My Wild Flower Patch

I have had a lot of work done to my garden and home over the last few years. By the time the work was finished what was my lawn looked like a building site. But last autumn I rotovated the who area, after clearing a mass of bricks and concrete. I planted most of the area with grass seed, but I decided to sow wild flowers into a small area to attract bees and other insects and bugs.

Areas of wildflowers have become increasingly rare in the UK. So I think providing a small area in our gardens is a way for providing food and habitat for our struggling wildlife. The main flowers that have appeared so far are beautiful blue cornflowers which seem much taller than I remember them being from when I grew them as a child.

Poppies have now started to appear along with other flowers including clover. I bought the seed as British wildflower seed, however I know some of the species that have appeared, such as some of the poppies and clover, aren't what I would normally expect to see in our countryside.

However, I think they make a beautiful addition to my garden and the bees and other bugs seem to like them, although they disappear whenever I try to photograph them!

Pictures were all taken by me on my Android phone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency