Has Anyone Tried Air Layering?

I got a bunch of Rooter Pots in the winter and decided I would try them out on a couple of branches I needed to prune on the apple trees.

First on the Norland

And then on the Honeycrisp

I had to lash that one upright because of the water reservoir in the bottom.

I followed the instructions and cut a ring down to the cambium layer and stripped it off. I will go out and water it every couple of days to make sure the peat doesn't dry out and hopefully it will root before freeze up and I can cut those branches off and plant them in pots to put in the greenhouse for the winter.

I kind of thought of planting them in pots and throwing them under light for the winter, as they won't be doing any producing for a few years anyhow but I will have to look that up.

So I just thought I would ask here if anyone has tried this. I figure if it works, It will be a good way to make and save a few bucks whenever you need to prune your trees and bushes. I am going to try a few on the haskaps when I go back out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now