Two More Gardens Done - July 27, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

East Shed - tiny nest in rose crop July 2024.jpg

On Saturday morning I got up at 5:30AM after nearly 9 hours of sleep. I again didn’t want to clean up the kitchen, finish laundry, or do peas. It was another lovely day, so I went to the gardens at 6:15AM.

I planned to clean out the East Shed garden. It had been cleaned out and planted on June 11th, so it wasn’t quite so bad. I had to start with pruning the 7 Sisters rose back and up so I could work under it.

I quickly discovered this tiny nest in the overhang on the end of the shed. There was nothing in it. But I suspected the robin had another brood in the other nest. No heads popped up when I pruned so I guess they haven’t hatched.

East Shed - 7 Sister rose collage crop July 2024.jpg

I deadheaded as much as I could and the right photo is when I was done.

East Shed - collage crop July 2024.jpg

I got all the weeds out and found some more plants to plant:

2 Columbine
2 Sweet William
1 Parsley
1 Alyssum
1 Zinnia
1 Forget-Me-Not
2 Impatiens
1 Snapdragon

Cold frame - 2 trays left crop July 2024.jpg

While I was over at the cold frame, I took all the leftover plants and put them in compost and cleaned out all the ones that had died from the ones I planned to plant. In the end, I had 2 trays left to plant.

When I’d gotten my photos and made my notes, it was only 8:30AM, so I decided to tackle the New East garden. It wasn’t in the sun yet, but would be soon.

New East - before collage crop July 2024.jpg

It was in very bad shape, not having been touched since June 11th either. For some reason, it was far weedier than the other garden.

New East - after collage crop July 2024.jpg

But in spite of the weeds, the plants in this garden had fared better than in the East Shed. I didn’t need to plant any more. One sad note, there was only 1 stalk of bleeding heart left and I pulled it up by mistake. I’ll have to get a new plant next year.

I finished at 10:30AM, made my notes and got my photos, cleaned up and went in for a shower. I rested a while, ate lunch, harvested zucchini and cukes, and was in bed by noon.

I read and dozed until 4PM and got up, just to sit watching videos until supper.

On Sunday I have to mow the yard and at the barn, about 4 hours of work. I’m hoping I can get the kitchen cleaned up, the laundry finished, and maybe even get the peas done before going out to mow. I have to wait for the grass to dry.

I have to finish by 1PM as I have to get cleaned up and be ready to go to the concert at 2:15PM. So a busy day and no nap.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center