Setting Up - February 28, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Rainy day crop Feb. 2024.jpg

Wednesday I wasn’t moving too fast after the garden work on Tuesday, but I managed to get the kitchen cleaned up before I left for exercise class. It was to be a rainy warm day. But halfway through class I ran out of gas and had to go sit down until it was over.

Once home I just sat in my chair and rested until my general helper arrived at noon.

Being inspected crop Feb. 2024.jpg

We went down to the cellar and pulled out all the materials we needed to set up shelving and lights in the dining room and on the back porch. Our inspector was on the job.

Lights up in dining room crop Feb. 2024.jpg

I remembered last year I’d been unhappy to only have 2 shelves with lights and that I’d tried to fix that but didn’t. So this year we tackled the problem. My general helper suggested flipping 2 short support pieces to see if that would help. That started a search for the screw gun. Fortunately, my brother had left his in the workshop. So we did manage to flip them and it did give us a few more inches of space.

Being fully aware that the inspector would try to jump on the shelves, we put shims in wobbly places and twist tied them in place. We also used the strongest of the brackets. I made a new set of notes for next year.

There was a problem hanging the lights as screws holding the supports were in the way. So this was the best we could do. I had made notes about setting up the timers last year, so that was a whiz. The lights came on first try.

Lights up on porch crop Feb. 2024.jpg

Then we moved to the porch and that set up was easy too, due to notes. The light fixture had to be sprayed with WD40 to get the bulb holders to work. My helper friend had given me that tip last year.

We cleaned up the mess and brought things back to the cellar. The next job was inventorying the peat pots. I got a surprise when we discovered the bottom of the small pots box was filled with big pots. I must order small pots ASAP. I have enough for the first 2 startings, I think.

When we finished there and counted out pots for Friday, we went back up stairs with them. Next we had late arriving seeds to put biology into, and then all the new seeds needed to be put in the correct starting date bags.

We finished that at 3:15PM and so I sent her shopping and collapsed in my chair. I didn’t get anything else done but chores around 5:30PM. It was very warm all day, and my son had gotten the masonry heater way too hot on Tuesday night, so I didn’t light it. I just got the stove in the office going as there’s to be high winds blowing the warm away and winter returns on Thursday.

Thursday I hope to sit and get the starting charts for this year set up, then work on finishing the garden bed charts. I may get a call to go get the starting soil if it comes in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center