I Did What I Could - October 5, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

Small garden - east half, half cleaned crop Oct 2024.jpg

On Saturday, I was up about 6AM and got my photos edited and the post up. I’d taken so many photos; I didn’t finish until nearly 9AM. I got the kitchen cleaned up, and with one thing and another, I didn’t get outside until 10:30AM.

My helper friend and I had left the garden looking like this on Friday noon.

Small garden - more leaves crop Oct 2024.jpg

The white oak had seriously started dropping leaves overnight. So I hoped I’d get them all cleaned up, mulch spread and tarps down so I wouldn’t have to clean up a third time.

Small garden - ready to mulch crop Oct 2024.jpg

I decided to finish the east side first as it still had weeds and stuff to pick up. I got it done, unloaded the bales from the truck and started mulching.

I hadn’t decided if I was going to mulch but once I’d cleaned up I could see I would have to.

Small garden - as far as I got crop Oct 2024.jpg

Several of the bales had leaves that were far too big and would have to be torn apart to use. I set them in a pile to do later. I got all the bales spread and finished at 1PM. I was wiped out.

In the afternoon my #2 intern was doing the milk run for her dad and stopped in. She said she could help out for a couple hours on Sunday morning. So I will have help bringing more mulch up from the barn and getting some of the cleanup done. Hopefully we can spread more mulch. Depending on my energy level, I may try to get tarps down.

But I must mow up all the leaves in the yard on Sunday as it starts to rain on Sunday night into Monday. So I have at least 2 hours of mowing to do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center