Harvesting Onions - August 13, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

Walla onions for dehydrator crop August 2022.jpg

It was cold inside on Saturday morning, the mid 50’s F. I was harvesting onions because there was rain forecast for Wednesday and the onions needed several days to dry down so I could braid them.

I pulled all the Cortland storage onions first and they filled the small tote. This is the fewest onions I have planted, but then, it’s only me now. Then I pulled the Dakota tears onions and they filled a 6 gallon pail. And lastly I selected all the smallest Walla Walla Sweet onions to put in the dehydrator.

Washing dehydrator trays crop August 2022.jpg

After I had cleaned the Wallas up, I realized that I’d never washed the trays to the dehydrator at the end of last year. So I washed up the 9 trays and their 18 liners. I had never done it in this kitchen before and was delighted at how fast it went when one had room to work. I finished them in less than half the time it had taken in the past. The bigger sink, more counter space, and the berry spray on the faucet all contributed.

Wallas for dehydrator crop August 2022.jpg

It took all morning to load the 6.5 trays I had onions for using the “non-finger removing tool” aka the Pampered Chef mandolin. I had to stop in the middle because the wood guys had arrived and I’d forgotten they were coming.

Woodshed clean crop Oct. 2021.jpg

They hadn’t sent the one to brush hog a path, so they just went over the hay. While they were trying to figure out backing in, I was frantically trying to empty all the stuff that accumulated in the sheds into the 6’ area designated for it in the addition.

Wood arrives - 2.5 cord crop August 2022.jpg

This year there are 2 of them to do the stacking. We all figured out that next load they can drive right in and turn around in the old wood area. They’d brought 2.5 cords of wood and it took them until about 1PM to stack it.

Woodshed - 2.5 cords crop August 2022.jpg

It’s being stacked as high as they can. They’d said they’d be back with the rest, but at 2PM one showed up and said they’d be back on Monday to finish the 5 cords in this round.

Cleaning onions crop August 2022.jpg

I got the onions started in the dehydrator by noon, had some lunch, and then went out to clean up the onions for curing at 1PM. With no picnic table I had to set up on the lawn chairs again.

Onions - Dakota Tears1 crop August 2022.jpg

I did the Dakota Tears first. They had done the best of all the onions this year. I got mostly nice large bulbs.

Onions - Dakota Tears2 crop August 2022.jpg

I hadn’t planted that many and they only made 2 rows on this smaller table.

Storage onions1 crop Aug. 2014.jpg

In the past the onions would have half filled this 10’ x 6’ picnic table. And the onions would be mostly softball size.

Cortland onions crop August 2022.jpg

Next I did the Cortland onions. These are the same as in the above photo but this year they are far smaller. I think the drought played a part because they were planted on time. They are a day sensitive plant so having enough light is crucial.

Onion harvest crop August 2022.jpg

It only took an hour to process them and clean up. Once the tops have dried down, on Tuesday (I hope) they will be ready to braid and hang in the woodshed addition to cure. My intern is coming to help do that.

On Sunday I have to mow the yard and up at the barn. That will take all morning. I should do the last harvest of green beans before I start and get that finished. I can process them in the afternoon, as the house will be cold. It’s to be low 50’s Saturday night.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center