Finished in the New Herb Garden - July 16, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - Rows 4,5,6,7 before collage crop July 2024.jpg

I was up at 4:30AM on Tuesday as I had a bit to do before I went out to the garden at 6AM with my #2 intern. I got my post up and got laundry started. Then I started closing the house up against the sun and heat.

In the living room, I discovered my delightful cat had hairballed on the small couch so I had to stop and clean up that mess. So I wasn’t ready when my #2 intern arrived at 6AM. I sent her out to dig the cat new crabgrass as that’s probably why he made the mess. His old ones were pretty much gone by.

New Herb - Row 5, yellow dotted mint crop July 2024.jpg

New Herb garden – Row 5, yellow dotted mint is doing very well after a rocky start

So we got to the New Herb garden by 6:30AM. She started on the walkway between the 4th and 5th rows and I started on the one closest to the house. That one was particularly bad and she had finished 2 walkways by the time I got to the end of mine. We finished the last one by 7:30AM so I took the extra time and we deadheaded many plants that needed it, finishing right around 8AM.

New Herb - Row 4, peppermint crop July 2024.jpg

New Herb garden – Row 4, peppermint, best I’ve seen it in years

I’d decided to run errands and then spend Wednesday making zucchini ravioli. I needed ingredients so, errands.

While I got a shower, she looked for the recipe I had saved on the computer so we’d know what we needed.

New Herb - Row 5, santolina crop July 2024.jpg

New Herb garden – Row 5, santolina doing pretty well

We headed out about 8:30AM and went to the lumber store and got more stakes for the gardens. Then we hit the wholesale club and then the co-op and then home again.

We got everything put away and she left and I sat down to rest.

New Herb - Row 4, verbascum in arnica crop July 2024.jpg

New Herb garden – verbascum got planted in an arnica pot

I was in my chair and the family friend came in. Apparently he’d arrived just as we left and had been up at the barn working on the lawnmower. The good news was that it was just badly dulled blades. The bad news was he’d spent all the time trying to get them off. The lawnmower guy must have put them on with a torque wrench. The friend had tried sharpening them, but they were too badly dinged up to do.

I had the new ones up there and he put them on and did a little mowing and the rider is fine. So we visited for about 1½ hours and he headed home.

New Herb - Row 5, sage crop July 2024.jpg

New Herb garden – Row 5, sage is still flowering

I didn’t do much besides laundry the rest of the day.

I got a call from the agency and they agreed to have the authorization to the home help place by Wednesday morning. So hopefully I will get a call to set up hours for my helper friend.

Wood chip pile shrinks crop July 2024.jpg

I went up after supper to reload the truck with mulch. The pile is going down.

Evening before the storm crop July 2024.jpg

Evening just before the storm

There was a heavy thunderstorm heading our way and it hit just as I was getting ready for bed. I got the windows closed, then went around and wiped things dry and by the time I’d done that, it had passed enough so I could open the house back up.

On Wednesday my #2 intern comes at 8AM and we will spend her 2½ hours making lots of zucchini raviolis for the freezer. I need to finish the laundry too. Plus I will probably have the kitchen to clean up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments