Another Garden Planted - July 10, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

South Herb -  before collage text crop July 2024.jpg

On Wednesday morning I’d decided I wasn’t going to be a useless article and was going to get another garden done. So I headed out to the South Herb garden, a 20’ x 4’ garden, that hadn’t been touched since 2022 at 6AM.

I started on the east end and hoped to make it to the west end. It wasn’t very hot, mid 70’s, but the humidity was through the roof. I didn’t know how long I would last.

South Herb - cleaned out collage text crop July 2024.jpg

But I had it all cleaned out by 10:30AM. I put down amendment and I made my notes and went to get some plants from the cold frame.

Snake skin crop July 2024.jpg

I’ve seen the snake that belongs to this skin several times in the stone steps to the office. I was hoping it was eating chipmunks, but from all the holes I found in the garden, I don’t guess it is.

South Herb - planted collage text crop July 2024.jpg

This is what I planted, or what’s in each photo. I finished by 11:15AM and was hot, soaked with sweat, and exhausted. I went inside to get cleaned up and saw the mulch guy was going to be here soon. So I sat in the cool office and waited for him to arrive.

Mulch arrives crop July 2024.jpg

He arrived just before noon and I sent him up to the barn to dump the load.

Wood chip mulch - 18 yds crop July 2024.jpg

This is what 18 yards of raw wood chips looks like. I was too exhausted to be messing with the Kubota so the truck didn’t get loaded. It’s to rain some of the day on Thursday, so it may not be moved then either. Maybe Friday…

South - sweet pea flowers crop July 2024.jpg

South garden – the sweet peas flowered!

I came inside and got a shower and sat and cooled down for a while. Then I talked on the phone with a friend for an hour before heading out to find lunch. Once I’d eaten, I found a movie and lay on the couch to watch it, mostly with my eyes shut.

Middle pasture - queen anne's lace crop July 2024.jpg

Middle pasture full of Queen Anne’s Lace

Thursday I don’t know what I’m doing, hopefully finishing bills/budget while it rains. I have an event at the Senior Center in the afternoon. It may stop raining by 8AM, but I think it’s best to not work soil when it’s so wet, so I doubt I’ll go out. I may load the truck with the mulch though so my son can get started doing the walkways in the New Herb garden before the weeds get any bigger.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments