"Monk's Head Orchids" 🌱 First time that this type of orchid blooms in my garden

Hello Hive gardeners!

Greetings to all gardeners! Especially to those who love orchids... I live about three hours away from the capital of my country, that's where I work so from time to time I travel and stay a couple of days working, part of my job is to help my clients with their gardens, just four months ago I went to an apartment that has those gardens inside them, my client let me clean her plants and after arranging the garden she let me take some to replant in my house,

then as soon as I arrived at the house I planted these orchids that I had never had here in my space, I put them where the other varieties of orchid plants are hanging. They are a species of orchids that I had not seen before, here in my corn there is an abundance of this type of plants but it is not common to observe these that are called "Monk's Head Orchids".

What I brought to the cape was the base of the plant, the roots and a bit of the thick stem, from there I carefully tied between the floating logs I have here in the house, I put it in the shade of a tree as the plant should be moist most of the time, taking very little sun...

As two months passed I observed how the plant grew and rooted, and just as it flowered, a small son of the plant is also beginning to emerge.

Days ago I was walking very quietly and observing all the plants when suddenly I saw something yellow in the distance, hidden among some leaves These flowers were so spectacular! I was really surprised because they even had a slightly different color than the ones I observed at work, I started talking to a neighbor who also knows about plants and he told me that this orchid was male, as they are the ones with more colors, it seems that females tend to be greenish while males are yellow... Honestly, I just thought how beautiful they were.

I noticed that the stem of the flowers grows from the base of the plant, not between the flowers, also it is a thick stem, different from the hanging orchids (downwards) that have thinner and more vulnerable stems, so I assumed that the stem is thick because this way the flowers are kept standing between each other. I noticed also that they lasted quite a few days alive, I estimate it was about two weeks and the flowers were aged but alive!
🌱 The little children are growing right now after the plant started to bloom, I guess that is their process, I am experimenting since each orchid species is different, some bloom all year round while others do not, the plant is still under observation but so far I am extremely happy and fascinated by what I have observed!

For now I can only continue to care for it, water the plant at night and wait to see when it comes out again with spectacular buds.
I show you these incredible flowers, I hope you enjoy the images as much as I enjoyed watching them.

Thank you for your attention

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center