Garden update; growing our own vegetables

A week ago I posted my first Hive Garden Update post.
I mentioned a book I ready during the holiday and the enthusiasm of growing our own vegetables and fruits.
My wife had bought some broccoli and lettuce seedlings which I temporarily planted in a bin, but which really should go into the ground.

When my parents in law came over last weekend we discussed the topic of growing our own vegetables and fruits and started looking for possibilities.
On one side of our garden we have a border with a rose and some Ox-eyes. The rose isn't that impressive. It is quite high, but doesn't have a lot of flower. I do like the Ox-eyes since they attract a lot of butterflies and bees.
Apart from that this piece of garden had a lot of weeds that just grew there. It was a kind of mishmash.
Although this part of the garden doesn't get the most sun it was the best place for the kitchen garden. So I had to move the Ox-eyes and I sacrificed the rose.

roos.jpg

So I started moving the Ox-Eyes to other parts of the garden and clearing the space. It isn't really big; 1.3 x 4 meters, so in total it is just over 5m2.
Not much, but hey.... it's a start!

leeg.jpg

There were quite a lot of roots. From the rose, but also from the surrounding bushes and trees, so I tried to remove most of those as well.
While doing that I figured out why there were so many weeds in that part of our garden. I dug up over 50 bulbs in all sizes. And we have never planted any bulbs there ourselves.
I tried to remove as many roots and bulbs as possible.

afval.jpg

To enrich the soil I had bought a couple of bag of garden soil. I had bought all of the complete stock of 9 bags, but I think I need a few more.

tuinaarde.jpg

And then I put it in the garden. It looks quite nice already. As you can see it need a few more bags of soil. I plan to add those in the coming week, so I can move the lettuce and broccoli to this new spot.

klaar.jpg

Tomorrow we will visit an arborist to find some fruit trees. We want to place one fruit tree in this new spot and have two other spots where we can plant some trees.
Since we already have a plum tree we're thinking of an apple and a pear tree.

I hope you like my garden update.


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Photographing is my passion. Although I like photography in general, nature photography is one of my favourite subjects. I often go out with my camera for a hike to capture the beauty of nature.
I'm sharing my photos on Hive, Noise.Cash & APPICS.
I would love to read what you think of my photos in the comments.

Discord: friendlymoose#5717


Do you like photography?

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the #photocontests on Hive.
I also host my own #POBPhotocontest
Click the hashtags to check it out!


Statistics

I also create daily statistics for the Leofinance and ProofOfBrain communities:
#leofinancestats #proofofbrainstats

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center