Planting Rosemary and Sowing Peppers Seeds | HiveGarden Journal

DSC_0032.JPG

I have a thing for rosemary. It is a plant that awakens incredible nostalgia in me. I always pinch a couple of leaves and smell my fingers to just bring back the memories of a long-gone childhood. I remember playing between various rosemary bushes where I grew up and it just always reminds me of my youth.

DSC_0016.JPG

That being the case, I just had to get some rosemary for @urban.scout and our little garden we are trying to get up and running. Our local shop sells it cheaply, about $1 per plant. We scored three! So I just knew we had to plant them. It seems like a Sunday tradition now, with me expanding the garden bit by bit every Sunday.

DSC_0019.JPG

This time around, I made two new patches. The first one, next to the wild rocket and salad rocket, I made some space for the rosemary bushes. I hope that I gave them big enough space to flourish in. I planted three rosemary plants.

DSC_0026.JPG

The physical work is always the best. After so many years trying to be brutal to my hands, gardening and golfing, my hands are still so soft and easily hurt. Half an hour into digging the grass out, I already felt the first blisters on my hands.

DSC_0028.JPG

But it is all worth it as soon as you plant that plant and you see it grow. Every morning will be the same: go into the garden to see if new leaves are growing even though I know it does not grow that quickly.

DSC_0022.JPG

After making the first garden bed ready, I decided why not do another one? My hands were already covered in blisters, but I just had to do it. I have stored some seeds for quite a whole now, some unique peppers, and I have never planted them. So now I decided it was time.

DSC_0024.JPG

The satisfaction when you are done and ready to plant the seeds are unmatched. I love it, the smell of dirt on your hands, your heart beating, and the little seeds in your hand. Now I say my little prayer and I plant them. I really hope they will spout and turn into lovely big plants producing lovely peppers.

DSC_0027.JPG

The best part of this whole new gardening adventure is taking it step by step with my girlfriend @urban.scout. We are in this together. She had the guts to try all my herbs and wild plants, eating everything that I gave her to taste. Now, we both have our addiction linked to rosemary. She even bought some rosemary artwork! In any case, I hope that you enjoyed these musings! Gardening is such a lovely thing to share and experience.

DSC_0021.JPG

Happy gardening and stay safe.

All of the writings are my own, albeit inspired by the smell of rosemary. The photographs are also my own, taken with my Nikon D3200.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now