GRATEFUL FOR THE HARVEST! Say "Hot Pepper"! 🌶️🤩| #GardenSelfieJournal


"The thankful receiver bears the plentiful harvest." - William Blake

A wonderful HELLO to all the wonderful people of the Hive, especially to the gardeners and garden enthusiasts out there💞!

I hope you are all safe and sound, blessed, and happy today🥰! We are now on our first week of the first month of the new year, and like the others, vacation is over and I am blissful to go back to work😂. Aside from the excitement of seeing my students after a long holiday break, I am also excited to visit our garden in school🥰.

Before we had our Holiday break, our Hot Pepper plants in the garden flowered abundantly and even harvested a few. Now, as expected we have plenty of hot pepper ready for harvest😍. I was thankful also that it's been raining since vacation started 😅 because I was not able to water them during those days.

Screenshot_2023-01-05-18-12-12-01_c0d35d5c8ea536686f7fb1c9f2f8f274~2.jpg

Harvesting is the most fulfilling moment of being a gardener. I am indeed delighted to have harvested what my students and I have planted and cared for over the past months. All of us are excited about harvest time.

IMG20221207102634.jpg

IMG20221207102617.jpg

It was a gloomy but plentiful day when we went to our garden to check on our plants and of course to also see how bad are the weeds too😅. (Gosh, we're out for three weeks, it would look like a jungle now🤣). Fortunately, it's not that bad!

IMG20230104154243.jpg

IMG20221207102945~2.jpg

IMG20230104154556_01.jpg

I started harvesting while some of my students took the weeds off. My students got three trays (where we put the harvest) which made me laugh because it's too much for the quantity of the harvest. Anyway, some of my students helped in picking ready-to- be harvested hot peppers so the trays were used.

IMG20230106133821.jpg

IMG20230106133821.jpg

On the other hand, I felt sad about my Bell pepper plants because they did not thrive like the hot pepper plants. I planted two kinds of peppers, Bell pepper on the other side (two rows) and Hot pepper on the other (two rows). However, my Bell pepper did not yield like the other😥 ( I really don't know what happened maybe I missed something like putting some fertilizers or something, not sure).

IMG20221207103235.jpg

IMG20230104154521_01.jpg

IMG20221226143536_01.jpg

The majority of my students don't like spicy peppers, and I am not fond of using hot pepper in my cooking so we have decided to sell them to other teachers around. We agreed to use the money raised to purchase more vegetable seeds. Thankfully, we were able to raise a hundred and fifty pesos for that harvest and we planned to make another harvest by next week. With this, we will be able to raise more to buy new varieties of vegetable seeds.

You might wonder why I planted Hot pepper if I don't like using it in my cooking in the first place🤣? Well, if you had read my previous blogs about gardening, I have mentioned there that the school had participated in this Gulayan sa Paaralan Program and every teacher was assigned to a certain variety of plants (either vegetables, spices, or herbs). Then, I was lucky to be assigned to grow "Hot Pepper"🌶️. And I am truly grateful for the harvest, it made us feel blessed!

GridArt_20230106_185926327.jpg


That's all for now Hive friends! Thank you so much for reading and I would greatly appreciate it if you could leave some comments below🥰 like garden tips or any related questions (Also, suggestions on any recipe using hot pepper😅 if you have any in mind, I would love to know and try it next time🥰).

See you on my next blog! Keep safe and stay positive always. Remember that you will always harvest what you sow🥰! With pleasure, I am sending my warm big hugs and my best regards to you all💞😘!

P.S. All photos are mine unless stated otherwise, some were edited using Canva.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now