Let's See How the Plants Got On While I Was Away ...

Yesterday I was mulching this tiny garden with dried herbs and today I am admiring the garden as a whole. During the past years I have spent a lot of time in this garden even though it isn't mine. Rather, this garden is a collaboration and today I want to show you a small section of it ~ the kitchen garden.

Maybe some wouldn't call this a proper garden. It is only about a dozen ceramic pots of microgreens and herbs. They sit under a young birch tree, just outside the kitchen door. This location is ideal because they can't be missed by anyone coming in or out of the backyard. And thus, never miss a watering!

These greens are not so micro anymore. I sowed the seeds during my last visit, back in June. My mom has been caring for this garden since then but, for some reason, has never got into the habit of actually harvesting anything I plant for her.

These radish greens and epazote leaves could have been harvested months ago. Now the leaves are a bit tough and seeds are starting to form. No matter! They will go great with more tender greens in a pesto.

After a bit of harvesting and watering I checked around to see the plants that could use some potting up. This succulent is actually for my indoor working-from-home desk and this little corner, surrounded by plants, is a comforting place to do my garden chores.

An even more important chore is to refresh the pots of microgreens. Fall/winter is ideal for greens in this normally hot and dry climate. There are only a few months of chilly weather and rain so, my mom will be growing a few pots of broccoli and radish microgreens during this time. Here's to hoping she remembers to harvest them!

Sharing a garden really does have it's downsides. My parents tend towards manicured yards. I want it all to be wild. This is, of course, their garden and not mine. Still, I cannot bear the thought of them being without a reserve of microgreens, fresh mint, thyme, and even some decorative plants too. And so, I meddle, fill their small backyard with giant pots and herbs.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center