Smells of Childhood [Eng-Esp]

20240916_144311.jpg

Hello gardening community, here I am again. Cordial greetings to all.

I join you in the new challenge that catches us with its aromas. I am a regular walking the mountains of my city, one of the fascinating things of this natural contact is to perceive its aromas.

When there is rainy season the smells are mixed to create fresh fragrances with the smell of flowers, fruits, woody among others. When the land is dry, then you feel smells closer to those of animals. Of course there are plants that in times of drought release pleasant smells and the countryside always has something prepared to surprise us.

20240916_144329.jpg

The garden smell that reminds me of being at home is the scent of lemon balm. This plant was my mother's favorite and is still my father's favorite. Lemon balm has a fresh and exquisite fragrance. Every night in my room I always have a hot syrup before going to sleep.

During my childhood I remember those guarapos prepared by my mother when we had the flu or an upset stomach. My mother would take us to doctors for check-ups but she relied a lot on herbal concoctions.

Another well-remembered scent is that of riding. I recently planted a plant and it has already thrived. Peppermint, as well as Vaporu, is good for decongesting nasal passages.

My mother boiled a generous amount of water and poured vaporu and mint leaves in it, covered it well and then locked us in the room sucking the vapor. They were effective remedies for the flu.

I presume there are scents in my garden attracting pollinating insects, the Lemon Balm plant attracts the White Peacock butterfly, the Rue plant attracts the Comet butterfly. I planted a mint one, let's see what comes close to it.

With the fragrances of my plants I make infusions, I also put them to boil in water, I let it release a lot of scent and I do cleanings in my home. There is nothing like the smell of nature. I love my little garden and I love nature too.

IMG-20240812-WA0019.jpg

![SPANISH]

Hola comunidad de los jardinería otra vez yo por acá. Cordiales saludos para todos. Me uno a ustedes en el nuevo reto que nos atrapa con sus aromas. Soy asidua caminando las montañas de mi ciudad, una de las cosas fascinantes de este contacto natural es percibir sus aromas. Cuando hay temporada de lluvia los olores se mezcla para crear fragancias frescas con olor a flores, frutas, amaderados entre otros. Cuando la tierra está seca, entonces se sienten olores más cercanos al de los animales. Por supuesto hay plantas que en épocas de sequía sueltan gratos olores y es que el campo siempre nos tiene algo preparado para sorprendernos. El olor de jardín que me recuerda estar en casa es el aroma del toronjil o limoncillo. Esta planta era la preferida de mi madre y sigue siendo la de mi padre. El toronjil posee una fragancia fresca y exquisita. Todas las noches no falla en mi cuarto un guarapo bien caliente antes de dormir. Durante mi infancia recuerdo esos guarapos preparados por mamá cuando teníamos alguna gripe o malestar estomacal. Mi madre nos llevaba con médicos para los chequeos pero confiaba mucho en los brebajes con plantas o hiervas. Otro aroma muy recordado es el de monta. Hace poco sembré una planta y ya ha prosperado. La menta, al igual que Vaporú sirven para descongestionar vías nasales. Mi madre hervía una generosa cantidad de agua y en ella vertía hojas de vaporu y menta, la tapaba bien y luego nos encerraba en el cuarto aspirando el Vapor. Eran remedios efectivos para la gripe. Presumo que hay olores en mi jardín atrayendo insectos polinizadores, la planta del toronjil atrae a la mariposa Pavo Real Blanca, la planta de Ruda atrae a la mariposa Cometa. Sembré una de menta, vamos a ver que se acerca a ella. Con las fragancias de mis plantas hago infusiones, también las pongo a hervir en agua, dejo que suelte mucho olor y hago limpiezas en mi hogar. Nada como sentir olores propios de la naturaleza. Amo mi pequeño jardín y amo también la naturaleza.

¡Gracias por leer, comentar y votar!


Fotos de mi propiedad @belkisa758. Fotografías tomadas desde mi teléfono Samsung A-30. Editadas en lumii y Snapseed. Texto en inglés traducido con Deelp.com

colmena (3).gif

Vote la-colmena for witness
By @ylich

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now