The substrate of my plants 🌱

Soil or substrate is a key factor to have good crops and radiant plants, that is why if the soil is poor it will be very noticeable that the garden does not look as we wish, several times I have heard people complaining because their plants do not bloom or that the trees do not give good harvest. Many factors can influence this, if this is your case it is time to start analysing the quality of the soil or substrate that your plants have.

I usually try to keep the soil in my garden in optimum condition as I like to have a lot of flowers and fruits. Once or twice a year I buy horse manure to add to my plants, because I find it does better than cattle manure. However this year I didn't do so well with it, I don't know what the reason could be but I noticed that when I added the horse manure some of the plants started to rot and some insects appeared. My mum told me that a lot of times some people feed their horses a certain kind of grass which is not good for the plants.

IMG_20240901_091245_1.jpg

I always collect leaves that are easy to shred when dry and add them to the plants, especially leaves from plants in my garden with aromatic leaves, such as fig and lemon balm. I also add coffee grounds to my plants every fortnight and this makes them flower a lot.

I also boil the shells of potatoes, carrots and bananas to make a tea which I then mix with the irrigation water or apply in small quantities to the substrate. But there is one component that I used in my mother's garden with which we obtained very good results and good harvests. This component is ash obtained from wood, believe me that the fruit trees showed off so I recommend that from time to time if you can get ash from trees you apply it to the soil of your garden.

At the moment I am at my mother's house, she has a large garden and several fruit trees, we have been leaving the leaves to rot on the ground for years and look at this sample of soil, its colour is an intense black which to me indicates that the substrate is well fertilised.

Well friends it is a pleasure for me to be able to share with you this experience in our gardens, I speak in plural because I feel that my mother's garden is also mine.

We encourage you to write about the weekly activity that Hivegarden brings us and share your experiences on how to enrich the soil of your gardens.

A hug to all of you and we will keep reading. πŸ€—

🌿🌿🌼🌿🌿

✨Credits:✨

The content is my authorship, the images are my own and the digital editing has been done by me. The original text has been written in Spanish and translated using www.DeepL.com

Alborhadaa (4).png

InShot_20230717_174606376.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments