My garden in May [EN / ES]

Puedes leer la versión en español AQUI

After a long season of oppressive sunshine the first rains have started in my country. Little by little the plants have been recovering and starting to green up, the garden was dressed up with the flowers of the lilies, fireballs and sunflowers that I planted in October.

Although I lost two lemon plants that completely dried out, I am hopeful that rainwater will regenerate my other plants overwhelmed by the intense sun.

Fireball lily: Scadoxus multiflorus

It was a nice experience to see how the sunflowers were growing until they reached their bloom, then to observe the pollination until the seeds were formed, which by their weight bend the plant down. What I didn't like is that after flowering the sunflower plant dies. 😔

This season also brings additional work as the weeds grow and you have to make sure that the cacti and succulents don't get waterlogged. I rotate the plants in pots and move them around to take advantage of the sun and rain. Have you noticed that as the year progresses the position of the sun changes?

That's how it is in my country, only two seasons, one dry and the other rainy. The bad thing about the region where I live is that in the rainy season there can be very sunny days and unexpectedly it rains, but it can also rain daily, so you have to be careful to avoid puddles.

My garden has been kind enough to give me a melon that was delicious, it is the first time I harvest melon I didn't know if the plant will produce more melons because it was still flowering but I can already see two new melon shoots.

I had doubts when it came to harvesting because I was told not to wait for it to ripen on the plant and I think I got ahead of myself, I should have left it another few days but I was afraid the rain would damage it. However, yes I was able to eat it although I found it that it wasn't that sweet, I enjoyed it nonetheless. 😊

And to culminate the month of May, this night lily shone in all its splendor. This is very particular because it blooms only at night and has a scent that characterizes it. It is also known as the lily of desires or lady of the night. It belongs to the amaryllidaceae family, genus Crinum. Its scientific name Mermaid Crinum Lily.

Well friends this season promises lots of rain, let's hope our gardens will continue to give us abundant flowers and fruits. A big hug 🤗 🌻

Credits:
The content is my authorship, the images are my own and the digital editing has been done by me. The original text has been written in Spanish and translated using www.DeepL.com

Alborhadaa (4).png

! [SPANISH VERSION]

Mi jardín en Mayo

Después de una larga temporada de sol agobiante han comenzado las primeras lluvias en mi país. Poco a poco las plantas se han ido recuperando y comienzan a reverdecer, el jardín se vistió de gala con las flores de los lirios, las bolas de fuego y los girasoles que planté en octubre.

Aunque perdí dos plantas de limón que se secaron completamente, tengo la esperanza que el agua de lluvia regenere mis otras plantas agobiadas por el sol intenso.

Lirio bola de fuego: Scadoxus multiflorus

Fue una bonita experiencia ver cómo los girasoles iban creciendo hasta alcanzar su floración, luego observar la polinización hasta formarse las semillas que por su peso agachan la planta. Lo que no me gustó es que luego de florecer la planta de girasol se muere. 😔

Esta temporada también trae trabajo adicional ya que crece la maleza y hay que estar pendiente que los cactus y suculentas no se encharquen. Yo voy rotando las plantas en macetas cambiándolos de lugar para aprovechar el sol y la lluvia. Se han dado cuenta que a medida que avanza el año la posición del sol va cambiando?

Así es en mi país, solo dos estaciones una seca y otra lluviosa. Lo malo de la región donde vivo es que en temporada de lluvia puede haber unos días muy soleados y de manera inesperada llega la lluvia, pero también puede llover a diario, por eso hay que estar pendiente para evitar encharcamientos.

Mi jardín se ha mostrado bondadoso regalándome un melón que estaba delicioso, es primera vez que cosecho melón no sabía si la planta produciría mas melones porque seguía floreciendo pero ya puedo ver dos nuevos brotes de melón.

Tuve dudas a la hora de recoger la cosecha porque me dijeron que no debía esperar a que se madurara en la planta y creo que me adelanté, debí dejarla otros días pero temí que la lluvia lo dañara. No obstante, si pude comerlo aunque lo encontré que no estaba tan dulce, sin embargo me lo disfruté. 😊

Y para culminar el mes de mayo este lirio de la noche se lució en todo su esplendor. Este es muy particular porque florece solo de noche y tiene un aroma que lo caracteriza. También se le conoce como el lirio de los deseos o la dama de noche. Es de la familia de las amarilidáceas, género Crinum. Su nombre científico Mermaid Crinum Lily.

Bueno amigos esta temporada promete mucha lluvia, esperemos que nuestros jardines nos siga regalando abundantes flores y frutos. Un abrazo 🤗 🌻

Créditos:
El contenido es de mi autoría, las imágenes son propias y la edición digital ha sido realizada por mí. El texto original ha sido escrito en español y traducido utilizando www.DeepL.com

Alborhadaa (4).png

InShot_20230717_174606376.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now