Micro Balcony Garden Journal 2024 - Aug 18 / マイクロバルコニーの記録

In the region of Germany where I live, we've been experiencing days with temperatures soaring above 30 degrees Celsius. However, it looks like things will cool down a bit starting today. Since it's expected to rain in the evening, I decided to skip watering the plants.

I enjoyed my usual routine of observing my plants with a cup of coffee in hand, even as a light drizzle began to fall. Good I have roof over the balcony 😊

Right now, there's always something to harvest on the balcony. The green beans are doing particularly well, and after a few days, I have enough to use in stir-fries. I have to thank @aitommylr for inspiring me to plant them after reading her post.

The beans are growing so vigorously that some pods have matured past the ideal harvest time. I’ve decided to let those overripe pods dry out and save the seeds for next year.

Saving bean seeds is simple—I just let them dry out completely on the plant. It’s moments like these that make me glad I bought organic, non-hybrid seeds. Hybrid seeds (F1 varieties) don’t always produce the same plants.

Besides the beans, I often find strawberries, tomatoes, or other surprises waiting for me on the balcony. As I scan the balcony from one end to the other, I often spot a ripe red fruit hanging somewhere. Did you find it in the photo below? 😁

The tomato plant labeled as "Black Tomato" seems to have been mislabeled—it's actually a Green Zebra. Since green tomatoes don’t change color when ripe, it’s tricky to know when to pick them. You have to rely on touch to judge the softness. I’ve decided to pick one today, and I'll cut it up to taste with my daughter when she is back home.

As for the other plants, the spring onions, chives and arugula are coming along nicely. I transplanted some chives from the seed tray into an open spot. The larger spring onions are regrown from the roots of store-bought spring onions. Since I can regrow them, I less mind about price of organic spring onions.

I’m particularly fond of the perennial wild arugula with its smaller leaves. I often sprinkle its seeds like seasoning in any available space on the balcony. Some of the plants may have grown from seeds that scattered on their own. Having these little greens around is so handy when I want to add a touch of green to a sandwich.

This year, I’ve been a bit lazy with growing flowers, but a few tiny sunflowers, about 15 cm tall, have popped up. I’ve planted dwarf varieties before, but these seem even smaller. They have buds forming, so I’m excited to see what kind of flowers will bloom.

Speaking of flowers, the morning glories are blooming beautifully every day. Since organic morning glory seeds are quite expensive here in Germany, I’m thinking of saving seeds to share with customers at the market I have my stand once a month.

That's it for this week. With the weather fluctuating between hot and cool, I’ll take care to stay healthy while continuing to enjoy summer gardening.

Happy gardening!

🌻 🍅 🌻

ドイツの私が住んでいる地域では最高気温が30度を超える暑い日が続いていましたが、今日から少し穏やかになりそうです。夕方から雨が降るようなので、水やりはパスしました。弱い霧雨が降る中、コーヒー片手にいつものように植物を観察しました。

バルコニーでは日々何かしらとれます。特にインゲン豆の調子がよくて、数日貯めておくと炒め物に仕えるほどの量になります。@aitommylr さんの投稿を読んで植えたので、あいさんに大感謝です。

インゲン豆はあまりにも元気で、収穫のタイミングを逃してしまった鞘もあります。来年も育てたいので種とり用にすることにしました。

豆の種とりは簡単で、このままカラカラになるまで放置するだけです。こういうとき、オーガニックでF1でない種を買っていて良かったと思います。F1品種はその植物と同じように育つ保証がないのです。

インゲンのほかにも、日々バルコニーに出ると、いちごやトマトなど何かしらが採れます。バルコニーを端から眺めて赤い実がぶらぶらしているのをみつけます。下の写真でみつかりましたか?😁

黒トマトとラベルのあるトマトはどうやらラベルが間違っていて、グリーンゼブラという品種のようです。緑のトマトは色で収穫時期を判断できず、触って柔らかさで判断するのが難しいです。とりあえず一つ収穫してみました。子供が帰ってきたら一緒に切って食べてみます。

そのほかの食べ物は、ネギとルッコラが育ちつつあります。セルトレイで育苗していたチャイブを開いている場所に植えました。太い方のネギはお店で買ったネギの下の部分の根っこを伸ばして植えたリグロウネギです。

多年生で葉が小さめの野生のルッコラを気に入っていて、時々種を空いている場所にふりかけのようにまいています。こぼれだねから育ったものもあると思います。こうしてなんとなくバルコニーにいてくれるとサンドイッチに緑を添えたいなというときに心強いです。

今年は花の栽培をさぼり気味だったのですが、15cmほどのミニミニのひまわりが何本か生えてきました。ドワーフタイプのものを植えたことはあるのですが、こんなに小さかったっけ・・・。つぼみがついているのでどんな花が咲くのか楽しみです。

もう一つ花といえば、朝顔が日々元気に咲いています。ドイツではオーガニックの朝顔の種が高めなので、種とりをしてマーケットに来るお客さんに分けたいななんて考えています。

暑くなったり涼しくなったり、体調に気をつけつつ、夏のガーデニングを楽しみたいです。Happy gardening!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now