Dealing with my Pile of Shame + A Trip to the local Warhammer Store!

Every war-gamer has a a Pile of Shame. It's just a question of how much shame you have in your life and on your shelf. Shame Piles are made up of the games, miniatures sets, and loose molds that we've picked up somewhere along the way and never got around to building. Do we stop buying new stuff to build though? No, we don't, and the pile grows.

After contacting a local store with a Warhammer scene I packed everything up, hopped in the car, and hit the road.

And let me tell ya, the store made a fantastic first impression:

image.png
Que angelic singing and chanting

My pile followed my 1700 miles across North America. I'm really glad it did, there are some key ork units that I absolutely would have paid way too much to buy a second time. Now that those are back in my collection it's time to evaluate whats left in the pile and help it find a new home.

Today I'm passing along:

1 Ogre Kingdoms army for Warhammer Age of Sigmar (including a vintage Ogre cook from The Old World)

image.png
Get. In. My Belly.

1 Nighthaunt army for Warhammer Age of Sigmar

image.png
Danger: Extra spoopy.

And, pictured, we had a mint condition unopened Magic the Gathering commander deck from when MtG did their Warhammer crossover (and somehow got me buying cards AGAIN). I preordered all four of the Warhammer decks and upgraded them all while doing my best to keep them in their themes as mid-level decks for funzo games with friends (now to make some friends ...).

All except the 'Nids deck. So, pass it along.

All and all I got a nice little chunk of store credit, some space in my closet, and a happy wife out of the deal. Score! Plus, I got to check out a really sweet new location where I hope to play some games in the future and some amazing models.

image.png
Seeing this kind of thing is going to motivate weeks of crafting. What a beautiful army and project!

image.png
Vintage looking miniatures. A literal pile of treasure. There is something about this kind of clutter that scratches all the right places in my brain.

I left the store with my gift-card in hand and no impulse purchases. Major victory. Since then I've been thinking a lot about a magnetized set of Ork Killa Kans I saw in their display case. They are built and have magnetized weapons, which is ideal, but no primer or paint yet. Might be time to swoop in on those soon if they stay from of mind or ... Maybe Thrakka?

Glad to have a little store credit to spin my wheels over. Thanks for coming along with me, friends. I hope you've been having a great week and are safe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center