What are my favorite game genres? | A bit of analysis


image.png
Source

Hello everyone!

After so long, finally a gaming post that is not directly talking about my experience with a video game: What could I bring you?

This time, on the Ready Player Hive show we were given the theme of talking about our favorite genre of video games, and since last night I have a long internal struggle to decide which is really my favorite genre of games since there are 2 candidates that I have enjoyed to no end.

And to give you a kind of solution to this issue: I'll talk about both genders! Maybe breaking the theme a little bit, but personally it is impossible for me to decide between one of the two.

Let's start with the first genre:

Gif4_Trim (1).gif

Action-adventure

After a lot of rambling, I ended up deciding that action is definitely one of my favorite genres of games right now.

Usually this style of game comes with some amazing single-player, or at least the ones I've played. If you've been reading my posts lately you'll know that my latest adventure happened in Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, the game I currently consider my favorite single-player game.

Why action-adventure?

I'm pretty picky about what I play because I get bored pretty quickly if it didn't hold my attention. Most of the offline games I've given a chance to are games that were quite famous at the time, such as Outlast 2, which even though its second installment was just as epic as the first one, I could never finish it due to lack of time and motivation. Horror is definitely not my thing XD.


On the other hand, something I tend to totally ignore as well is the subject of graphics. I'm someone who really loves stories within video games, someone who much, much prefers a good narrative that keeps you attentive to EVERYTHING that's going on in the game rather than just playing it for visual spectacle.

Don't get me wrong, I love modern graphics, but what's the point of having a game that looks pretty if it's not good enough to keep players attentive to what's happening on screen? Even though something looks pretty, it will be boring no matter how pretty it is.


20230203052112_1.jpg

Also, action in general is what I like most about video games. I like it when a lot of things happen on screen, when you don't have to focus on one small task and anything can happen to you at any time.

I don't know if it's right to consider a multiplayer game as an action game, I assume it is, especially in games like SCP: Secret Laboratory or also Left 4 Dead 2. Even though they are kind of old, they are still games that have given me a lot of laughs and memorable moments with special friends.

Something I also love about this kind of games is the amount of detail they add to these games, they simply try to keep to perfection every detail that can make the experience much more satisfying for the user.

The Last of Us soundtrack can prove this:

Just enjoy that masterpiece as I move on to my other favorite genre:


20221214143106_1.jpg

Survival games

Survival games have been throughout my life the most played genre by far. I have always felt quite attracted to the challenges and to constantly surpass myself in a large or impossible to fully explore world.

Within this genre I have played an absurd amount of video games, all with different approaches but each one having something that gave it a unique touch. So far, the most special survival game for me has been the mythical Minecraft... and I think the reasons are more than obvious.

2023-01-31_22.16.15.png2023-02-07_13.26.25.png2023-02-07_13.30.38.png
2023-02-14_20.57.40.png2023-02-18_00.53.49.png2023-02-18_01.14.25.png

2023-03-28_15.21.07.png

Talking about Minecraft is talking about an endless number of stories with a lot of friends that have accompanied me in all of them. More than just being a game that I enjoy even though in the long run it starts to get a bit "repetitive", every time I play it I enjoy spending time with those people who accompany me to play it.

Minecraft has a lot of amazing resources that despite all the minimalism/simplism behind it, it has been the survival star for years. And I hope it stays that way.

Have you ever stopped to think about how amazing the soundtrack is in Minecraft? I mean...

I can't describe more the perfection of survival games, and what they mean to me.

And that would be it!

I'd like to go on describing all this much more, but I'd end up talking about why Minecraft deserves to be eternal haha. Thank you so much for reading all this.

Versión en español


image.png
Source

¡Hola a todos!

Después de tanto tiempo, por fin un post de gaming que no es directamente hablando de mi experiencia con un videojuego: ¿Qué les podría traer?

En esta ocasión, en el programa Ready Player Hive nos dieron la temática de hablar acerca de nuestro género favorito de videojuegos, y desde anoche tengo una larga lucha interna para decidir cuál es realmente mi género de juegos favorito puesto que hay 2 candidatos que he disfrutado hasta más no poder.

Y para darle una especie de solución a este asunto: ¡Hablaré de ambos géneros! Tal vez rompiendo un poco la temática, pero personalmente se me es imposible decidir entre uno de los dos.

Empecemos con el primer género:

Gif4_Trim (1).gif

Acción-aventura

Después de divagar muchísimo, terminé decidiendo que definitivamente la acción actualmente es uno de mis géneros de juego favoritos.

Usualmente este estilo de juegos vienen acompañando de un single-player asombroso, o al menos los que yo he jugado. Si han estado leyendo últimamente mis publicaciones sabrán que mi última aventura ocurrió en Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, el juego que considero actualmente mi favorito en single-player.

¿Por qué acción-aventura?

Soy alguien bastante quisquilloso respecto a lo que juego porque me aburro excesivamente rápido si no me llamó suficiente atención. La mayoría de juegos offline a los que le he dado la oportunidad son juegos que fueron bastante famosos en su momento, como por ejemplo Outlast 2, que a pesar de que su segunda entrega fue igual de épica que la primera, nunca pude terminarla por falta de tiempo y de motivación. El terror definitvamente no es lo mío XD.


Por otro lado, algo que suelo ignorar totalmente también es el tema de los gráficos. Soy alguien que realmente ama las historias dentro de los videojuegos, alguien que prefiere muchísimo más una buena narrativa que te mantenga atento a TODO lo que está ocurriendo en el juego más que simplemente jugarlo por espectáculo visual.

No me malinterpreten, amo los gráficos modernos, pero, ¿de qué sirve tener un juego que se ve lindo si no es lo suficientemente bueno como para mantener a los jugadores atentos a lo que ocurre en pantalla? A pesar de que algo se ve lindo, será aburrido sin importar qué tan bonito sea.


20230203052112_1.jpg

También, la acción en general es lo que más me gusta de los videojuegos. Me gusta cuando ocurren muchas cosas en pantalla, cuando no tienes que enfocarte una pequeña tarea y puede ocurrirte cualquier cosa en cualquier momento.

No sé si esté bien considerar un juego multiplayer como un juego de acción, yo asumo que sí, especialmente en juegos como SCP: Secret Laboratory o también Left 4 Dead 2. A pesar de que son algo viejos, aún así son juegos que me han dado una gran cantidad de risas y momentos memorables con amigos especiales.

Algo que también me encanta acerca de este tipo de juegos es la cantidad de detalle que le añaden a estos juegos, simplemente intentan mantener a la perfección cada detalle que pueda hacer que la experiencia sea mucho más satisfactoria para el usuario.

La banda sonora de The Last of Us puede demostrar esto:

Simplemente disfruten de esa obra maestra mientras paso a mi otro género favorito:


20221214143106_1.jpg

Los juegos survival

Los juegos de supervivencia han sido a lo largo de toda mi vida el género más jugado y con muchísima diferencia. Siempre he sentido bastante atracción con los retos y con superarme constantemente en un mundo grande o imposible de explorar en su totalidad.

Dentro de este género he jugado una cantidad absurda de videojuegos, todos con distintos enfoques pero cada uno teniendo algo que le daba un toque único. Hasta ahora, el survival más especial para mí ha sido el mítico Minecraft.. y creo que las razones son más que obvias.

2023-01-31_22.16.15.png2023-02-07_13.26.25.png2023-02-07_13.30.38.png
2023-02-14_20.57.40.png2023-02-18_00.53.49.png2023-02-18_01.14.25.png

2023-03-28_15.21.07.png

Hablar de Minecraft es hablar de un sinfín de historias con una gran cantidad de amigos que me han acompañado en todas ellas. Más que simplemente ser un juego que disfruto a pesar de que al largo plazo comienza a ser algo "repetitivo", cada vez que lo juego disfruto pasar tiempo con esas personas que me acompañan a jugarlo.

Minecraft tiene un montón de recursos increíbles que a pesar de todo el minimalismo/simplismo detrás, ha sido el survival estrella durante años. Y espero que así se mantenga.

¿Alguna vez se han detenido a pensar lo asombrosa que es la banda sonora en Minecraft? Quiero decir..

No puedo describir más la perfección de los juegos survival, y de lo que significan para mí.

¡Y eso sería todo!

Quisiera seguir describiendo mucho más todo esto, pero terminaría hablando de por qué Minecraft merece ser eterno haha. Muchísimas gracias por leer todo esto.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center