[ENG|ESP] Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge is the Dark Souls of Ninja games


✨English✨


cover.jpg

Outside of the first Ninja Gaiden for NES, and this same one that I mention in the title, I had never tried another title belonging to this franchise, I have read good and especially bad things about Ninja Gaiden 3 and despite they "fixed" it with Razor's Edge, the community has more esteem for the two previous games, I can't say so myself to be honest, so I'll only talk about my experience with Razor's Edge, and why, contrary to what I thought at first, I'm not going to finish it.

I already talked about my first impressions of the game a while ago and I don't want to repeat myself too much, I'll also take the opportunity to subjectively touch on the difficulty issue.


2022-05-05_20.28.10_TV.jpg

After playing for a while, the difficulty of the game was starting to overwhelm me a bit, mostly because it's based on throwing 3 or 4 enemies in your face that are going to fight you from close, and then there'll be another couple throwing missiles at you from afar, and this happens every time you advance a little in the game, also taking into account that there is no way to heal you other than the ninpos, saving or buying some of the available health upgrades, if you have bad luck you can end up facing a strong group of enemies or directly a boss with a very low health bar, and that's why I decided to change the difficulty from "Normal" to "Hero" (which is Easy), but now it happens that the game is WAY too easy.


2022-05-05_20.31.35_TV.jpg

It took me a while to realize it, but playing in Hero mode the game becomes almost automatic, it's impossible to die, your life bar won't drop below a specific point at any time, every time you get hit Ryu will block them automatically, and the explosions magically won't do any damage, sometimes enemies that are about to die catch you and apply the kamikaze way with an explosive, do you know how much damage you get from that? absolutely nothing, once your bar hits that point it's absolutely impossible to die, and the game that a couple of hours ago seemed impossible to me, now it's a breeze.

Being a hack and slash, it's hard for me not to see other games, that despite having difficulties where they are absurdly easy, or fucking hard, like Bayonetta or DMC, which in my opinion make a better management of the difficulty, but I also understand that Ninja Gaiden is based mostly on difficulty, and in offering a challenge to its players, maybe more than Dark Souls, they are very different games, with very different proposals, but I think it has already become everyday to compare Dark Souls with any difficult game.


2022-05-05_20.32.44_TV.jpg

Anyway, it's a game whose challenge doesn't give me satisfaction, the same satisfaction that other games like Dark Souls, Hollow Knight, or Celeste give me.

And this goes a little hand in hand with what I mentioned about the difficulty, in a general context I think I've been softening over the years, I've always liked a good challenge, but to accept that challenge I think the basic thing is that you like the game itself, for example, if you decide to play Dark Souls with a dance mat, the most normal thing is that you like the game and want to experience it again in a different way, not necessarily more difficult, but different.


2022-05-05_20.34.30_TV.jpg

The same happens to me with shooters, they are not games where I can spend 5 hours every day, and that's why I can't stand those difficulties where you die from two shots and the AI aiming is perfect and without mistakes, it's difficult, yes, but it's not the kind of difficulty I look for in a game, and I know that many other people either, in the end everyone plays as they like, that's why sometimes it becomes a bit conflicting when you want someone to play the same as you, in the same way you do.

That's why I really like that kind of games that either, or by default can be played in many different ways, or that give you options to adapt the game to your needs, like Metal Gear Solid, which usually implements a lot of different difficulty levels, or The Last of Us, where stealth can be as necessary or dispensable as you prefer (depending on the difficulty of course), or you can enable/disable certain things as you prefer.



LatinOL

But one of the greatest examples of games that let you do things the way you want is The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, a game I mention relatively often, I know, but if it's talked about so much, it must be for a reason, and although the lots and lots of shrines have a way of being solved by default, that doesn't eliminate that each player can be as creative as they want to come up with solutions that surely not even the developers themselves couldn't predict, this is not so tied with the difficulty, but it's an example that a flexible game can be quite good, but it can also be broken to unimaginable levels, for example, I remember years ago to see players discovering how to fly with a wagon or something like that, and you could go wherever you wanted without many complications, even today you see players discovering new ways to do things, or very curious experiments, and in my opinion that's cool.



El rincón friki

My point, is that it surprises me how much I am against the idea that I myself had years ago about "the harder, the better", while there are games that need to have a minimum level of challenge to not be boring, there are others whose goal isn't the difficulty, but an experience, something like Minecraft, or Animal Crossing, which the latter I don't like but is a perfect example of what I'm trying to explain.


2022-05-05_20.29.31_TV.jpg

It's a bit silly to make conclusions at this point because if you have already read some of my opinions you know that my conclusion is more common sense than an opinion, play as you like, and let everyone play as they like, a difficult game isn't always a good game for everyone, and DARK SOULS NEEDS EASY MODE. (I'm joking).

Anyway, I have nothing more to add, I'm going to uninstall Ninja Gaiden and install BotW instead (I still have to play other games before though), I've been wanting to play it again for a while haha, thank you very much for reading, if you have something to say do it with confidence.


See you around, bye bye.

Ninja Gaiden 3 Razor's Edge screenshots were taken by me 📷
Any other image does have its respective source.
Translation with help of DeepL


separador v5.png


✨Español✨


cover.jpg

Fuera del primer Ninja Gaiden para NES, y de este mismo que menciono en el título, nunca había probado otro título perteneciente a esta franquicia, he leído cosas buenas y en especial malas sobre Ninja Gaiden 3 y de que a pesar de que lo “arreglaron” con Razor’s Edge, la comunidad tiene en más estima los dos juegos anteriores, yo no sabría decir la verdad, así que solo hablaré de mi experiencia con Razor’s Edge, y de por qué, contrario a lo que pensaba en un principio, no voy a terminarlo.

Ya hablé de mis primeras impresiones del juego hace un tiempo y no quiero repetirme mucho, y también aprovecharé de tocar subjetivamente el tema de la dificultad.


2022-05-05_20.28.10_TV.jpg

Después de jugar un rato, la dificultad del juego me estaba empezando a agobiar un poco, mayormente porque se basa en tirarte a la cara 3 o 4 enemigos que van a pelear contra ti desde cerca, y luego habrá otro par lanzándote misiles a lo lejos, y esto sucede cada vez que avanzas un poco en el juego, teniendo también en cuenta que no hay alguna forma de curarte que no sean los ninpos, guardando o comprando alguna de las mejoras de salud disponibles, si tienes mala suerte puedes terminar enfrentándote a un grupo fuerte de enemigos o directamente a un jefe con al barra de vida bastante reducida, y es por eso que decidí recudir al dificultad de “Normal” a “Héroe” (que es Fácil), pero ahora ocurre que el juego es demasiado fácil.


2022-05-05_20.31.35_TV.jpg

Tardé un rato en darme cuenta, pero al jugar en Héroe el juego se vuelve casi automático, pues es imposible morir, tu barra de vida no va a bajar de un punto en específico en ningún momento, cada vez que te den un golpe Ryu los bloqueará automáticamente, y las explosiones mágicamente no te harán ningún tipo de daño, a veces los enemigos que ya están a punto de morir te atrapan y aplican la del kamikaze con un explosivo, ¿sabes cuánto daño recibes de eso?, absolutamente nada, una vez tu barra toca ese punto es absolutamente imposible morir, y el juego que hace un par de horas me parecía imposible, ahora es un paseo.

Tratándose de un hack and slash, se me hace difícil no ver a otros juegos, que a pesar de tener dificultades donde son absurdamente fáciles, o jodidamente difíciles, como Bayonetta o DMC, que a mi parecer hacen una mejor administración de la dificultad, pero también entiendo que Ninja Gaiden se basa mayormente en la dificultad, y en ofrecer un reto a sus jugadores, quizá más que Dark Souls, son juegos muy distintos, con propuestas muy diferentes, pero creo que ya se ha hecho cotidiano comparar a Dark Souls con cualquier juego difícil.


2022-05-05_20.32.44_TV.jpg

De cualquier forma, es un juego cuyo reto no me causa satisfacción, esa misma satisfacción que sí me generan otros juegos como el mismísimo Dark Souls, Hollow Knight, o Celeste.

Y esto va un poco de la mano con lo que mencionaba de la dificultad, en un contexto general creo que me he ido ablandando con los años, siempre me ha gustado un buen reto, pero para aceptar ese reto creo que lo básico es que el juego en sí te guste, por ejemplo, si decides pasarte Dark Souls con una alfombra de baile, lo más normal es que el juego te gusta y quieres volver a experimentarlo de una forma distinta, no necesariamente más difícil, pero distinta.


2022-05-05_20.34.30_TV.jpg

Lo mismo me ocurre con los shooters, no son juegos en los que pueda estar 5 horas todos los días, y es por ello que no soporto esas dificultades donde mueres de dos disparos y la puntería de la IA es perfecta y sin errores, es difícil, sí, pero no es el tipo de dificultad que yo busco en un juego, y sé que muchas otras personas tampoco, al final cada quien juega como más le gusta, es por ello que a veces se vuelve un poco conflictivo cuando quieres que alguien juegue a lo mismo que tú, de la misma forma que tú.

Es por eso que me gustan mucho ese tipo de juegos que bien, o por defecto se pueden jugar de muchas formas distintas, o que te dan opciones para adaptar el juego a tu medida, como Metal Gear Solid, que suele implementar bastantes niveles de dificultad distintos, o The Last of Us, donde el sigilo puede ser tan necesario o prescindible como prefieras (según la dificultad por supuesto), o puedes activar/desactivar ciertas cosas según prefieras.



LatinOL

Pero uno de los ejemplos más grandes de juegos que te dejan hacer las cosas como quieras, es The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, un juego que menciono con relativa frecuencia, lo sé, pero si tanto se habla de él, por algo será, y aunque los montones y montones de santuarios tienen una forma de ser resueltos por defecto, eso no elimina que cada jugador puede ser tan creativo como quiera para dar con soluciones que seguramente ni los mismos desarrolladores pudieron predecir, esto no va tan ligado con la dificultad, pero es un ejemplo de que un juego flexible puede salir bastante bien, pero también puede romperse a niveles inimaginables, por ejemplo, recuerdo hace años ver a jugadores descubriendo la forma de volar con una vagoneta o algo así, y podías ir a donde quisieras sin muchas complicaciones, aún a día de hoy ves a jugadores descubriendo nuevas formas de hacer las cosas, o de experimentos muy curiosos, y eso en mi opinión es genial.



El rincón friki

Mi punto, es que me sorprende qué tan en contra estoy de la idea que yo mismo tenía hace años atrás de que “mientras más difícil, mejor”, si bien hay juegos que necesitan tener un nivel mínimo de reto para no ser aburridos, hay otros cuyo objetivo no es la dificultad, sino una experiencia, algo así como Minecraft, o Animal Crossing, que este último no me gusta pero es un ejemplo perfecto de lo que intento explicar.


2022-05-05_20.29.31_TV.jpg

Es un poco tonto hacer conclusiones a estar alturas porque si ya han leído alguna de mis opiniones saben que mi conclusión es más algo de sentido común que una opinión, jueguen como prefieran, y dejen que cada quien juegue como prefiera, un juego difícil no siempre es un buen juego para todo el mundo, Y DARK SOULS NECESITA MODO FÁCIL (es broma).

En fin, no tengo más que añadir, yo me voy a desinstalar el Ninja Gaiden e instalar BotW en su lugar, llevo un buen rato queriendo volver a jugarlo haha, muchas gracias por leer, si tienen algo que decir háganlo con confianza.


Nos vemos por ahí, bye bye.

Las capturas de Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge fueron tomadas personalmente 📷
El resto de imagenes tienen sus respectivas fuentes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now