Entering the world of horror with Silent Hill

Hello people, how is everything? I remember that I discovered this game thanks to a classmate who lent it to me when I was just starting high school. He told me it was quite scary and that Resident Evil was rubbish compared to it. I thought he was talking nonsense because, at that time, nothing seemed better to me than Resident Evil when it came to horror games.

Upon arriving home and inserting the disc into my PS1, the old horror movie-style opening sequence intrigued me because it reminded me of an episode of The X-Files I had watched during those days, where they were investigating a case inspired by the original Frankenstein film.

What my friend had told me weren’t mere tales. The game was indeed scary; in fact, after playing it for just ten or fifteen minutes, it left me somewhat paranoid, and that night, I couldn’t sleep peacefully. With this anecdote, I introduce you to my narrated gameplay series of Silent Hill.

1.jpg


The game starts with the disappearance of the protagonist’s little daughter after they had a car accident near a small town where they were going on vacation.

As soon as I took control of the concerned father, I advanced through the streets shrouded in a thick fog until I saw a sequence in which a silhouette appeared, apparently his kid. I quickly followed her.

2.jpg
41.jpg
4.jpg


Suddenly, something strange happened: the little girl ignored her father’s calls and entered an alleyway. Bewildered, I continued forward and stepped into another alley filled with pools of blood. This won’t bode well, I thought.

3.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg
9.jpg


I continued my path, and suddenly everything darkened. Harry then struck a match to illuminate the area lightly, and I cautiously pressed forward. The scene had changed: a stretcher, an overturned wheelchair in a corner emitting a high-pitched squeal as one of its wheels spun aimlessly. What on earth was all this?

42.jpg
43.jpg
11.jpg
10.jpg


Bloodstains began to appear on the floor and walls as I continued forward. Later, I discovered a completely deformed body hanging from a wire fence. I couldn’t tell if it was a human, a doll, or some unknown creature.

12.jpg
44.jpg
14.jpg


All of a sudden, in the darkness, I heard stealthy footsteps. When I turned around, creatures the size of children with enormous claws cornered me. Unable to defend myself against their swift attack, the last thing I witnessed was rain beating down on Harry’s lifeless body.

15.jpg
16.jpg


Shortly after, our protagonist woke up inside a highway diner, leading me to believe that the previous segment of the game had been just a dream. There, I met a police officer named Cybil. After chatting with her for a while, I realized that something very strange was happening in this town, and I didn’t hesitate to accept the gun she offered me.

17.jpg
18.jpg
24.jpg
25.jpg


As I tried to leave the diner, I heard the sound of static coming from a radio on one of the tables. I approached to see what was happening, and at that moment, a flying beast shattered one of the windows and lunged at me. With adrenaline pumping, I backed up, aimed as best I could, and fired several shots that ended the creature’s life. It was then that I noticed the radio had stopped playing.

27.jpg
28.jpg
29.jpg
30.jpg
31.jpg
33.jpg


Not knowing exactly what was happening there, I knew I’d need all the help I could get. So, I picked up that radio, which seemed to alert me whenever those monsters were nearby, along with a map and a flashlight.

34.jpg
26.jpg


Outside, I glanced at my map to locate the alley where I believed I had died in the dream, and I returned there once more, determined to explore everything. This time, I went all the way to the end without being attacked by the strange little monsters I had seen before. On the ground, I found a note that said “to school,” written in the same handwriting of Harry’s kid, along with a steel pipe that I could use as a weapon.

35.jpg
46.jpg
36.jpg
38.jpg
39.jpg
40.jpg


I checked my map again and located where the school was, but what initially seemed to pose no difficulty turned into a challenge. Whatever had happened in the town had destroyed all the roads leading to the school, leaving enormous cliffs that blocked the way.

49.jpg
50.jpg
48.jpg


Deep in thought, I circled the city once more, searching for anything important that I might have overlooked. Suddenly, my eyes fell upon a house down a street; it looked as a potential shortcut to where the school was located.

53.jpg
51.jpg
52.jpg


Inside the uninhabited residence, I observed some useful resources such as a first aid kit and ammunition that I did not hesitate to collect. Then I proceeded to open the door that led to the backyard, and total darkness replaced the fog. At that moment, I thought, thank God I found that flashlight.

58.jpg
55.jpg
59.jpg
60.jpg
61.jpg


With the city enveloped in darkness, I continued advancing through the streets of that area. However, as I approached the school building, I was attacked by couple of infernal dogs. With little time to react, I sought refuge in an adjacent school bus to recover from the fright.

62.jpg
64.jpg
63.jpg
65.jpg


Just a few minutes later, I gathered my courage, left the bus, and proceeded to eliminate each and every one of the beasts that were stalking me.

66.jpg
67.jpg


Now feeling somewhat calmer, I walked toward the entrance of the building, wondering what awaited me in this school and whether I would truly encounter the girl there…

68.jpg


THANK YOU FOR READING!


All images in this post are screenshots taken from my playthrough.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now