Reviving Memories with Harvest Moon and Legendary RPGs

When I think back to my childhood, there's one game that always echoes in my mind: Harvest Moon: Back to Nature. This game wasn't just entertainment; it also became my English-learning companion when I was in elementary school. Even now, the impression it left on me is so strong that I can still hear the soundtrack playing in my head.

I’ll admit, I was one of those players who never made it to the third year in this game. Yes, I was the type who often used cheats, but only to max out my powerberries so my character could keep up with the farm work. Despite that, I never felt like the game became too easy or boring. On the contrary, the experience of farming and building a life in the village remained challenging and satisfying.

I still remember the farthest point I reached: fall of the second year. At that time, I was close to reaching the third year, but the exhaustion and burnout finally made me stop playing. By then, I had already married Elli, maximized my livestock, caught all the legendary fish, and won almost every contest. However, for some reason, the cooking contest never really caught my interest—maybe because I preferred working in the fields rather than in the kitchen.

There’s one unique moment that always makes me smile when I remember it: when all the women in the village had red hearts for me. It felt like being a hero in a story, or maybe a celebrity in that small village. And of course, I can’t forget the moment when I proposed to Elli with a feather—yes, a chicken feather! How absurd and funny that was, but that’s exactly what made this game so memorable.

How did I feel while playing? Calm and peaceful. The music, the sounds of nature, everything seemed to pull me into that world. There was also an immense joy in seeing the crops I planted grow, the neatly arranged green fields, and the abundant harvest. Harvest Moon truly offered an unforgettable experience, a simple yet captivating escape from the hustle and bustle of the real world.

Apart from Harvest Moon, there’s also Suikoden 2, another legendary RPG that holds a special place in my heart. Its rich storyline, the vast number of characters to choose from, and the unique rune system kept me engaged until the end. I still remember experimenting with different rune combinations to create a deadly physical DPS team. My favorite runes? Fury, Double-Beat, and Double-Strike. This combination could deal massive damage, especially when used by characters like Bob, who had damage potential far above average.

However, Suikoden 2 wasn’t just about battles. Its deep and emotional story managed to connect me with every character. Although I wasn’t immediately drawn to the story, over time, I began to feel the depth of the narrative and the relationships between the characters. This game wasn’t just entertainment; it was an experience that truly impacted me.

And of course, I can’t leave out Final Fantasy VII, a game that’s probably familiar to most JRPG fans. Its epic story, memorable soundtrack, and strong characters made this game one of the most unforgettable in my gaming history. Even now, Final Fantasy VII remains a benchmark for other JRPGs, with a plot that stands the test of time and remains relevant to this day.

Whenever I revisit memories of these games, I feel like I’m returning to simpler times when gaming was the best way to escape reality. These games weren’t just entertainment; they became part of my life journey, providing rich experiences and sweet memories.

One up Chaos.png

Thank you for reading this far into my article. Hopefully, there is something you can get from what I have shared.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center