Age of Empires 4, testing my first games. // Age of Empires 4, probando mis primeras partidas. (ENG/ESP)

➤ Although the great strength of the game itself is the campaign, I am an anti-system and I go and play the opposite, and is that what I like most about this type of game are the skirmish games, basically free games where we only have to focus on creating our city and win. There is no story, there is no one to tell us what to do, there are no objectives, or something to accomplish, just seek victory and be the best. You can play however you want and do whatever you want, but it has to be good enough to survive, and is that for some reason, here the bots are pretty smart .... So let's get started.

imagen.png


➤ Even though it's a new installment, when we talk about the gameplay it's the same as we've seen around the whole saga, so if you're already used to it you're going to be good at playing quickly, you'll know what to do and you'll have a lot of notions of how to better manage everything, how to build your city and how to seek victory, and also to complain about things you were already used to, as it happened to me with the walls. I am a lover of building walls in Age of Empires, a city without walls for me is not a city apart that obviously can help you a lot to defend yourself. Well, as in all the games of the saga you always start with the most basic walls and then you can improve them little by little, from wooden walls to stone walls. Here it is the opposite, the walls are separated, that is, if I place wooden walls I can not improve them and so they will remain forever, until I unlock the stone walls. So if I have already made my entire city with wooden walls I have to destroy them all to put the stone ones, and it seems absurd to me because you can't even superimpose them on top so you don't have to go around removing the previous ones, no, you have to go there manually to remove everything.

imagen.png


➤ And here now we go to a point in favor, and is that artificial intelligence is brutal but at the same time stupid, by this I mean that my soldiers are morons because they do nothing if I do not command them, but on the other hand, the enemies comply with strategies and attack you intelligently, and although this already happened in the other games, here I notice it even more. In things as basic as that the guys are so wretched that the first thing they will go to attack will be your villagers that they have discovered and they will attack you on two sides, a group of soldiers that kill your villagers and others that distract your soldiers. And they will be constantly attacking you in small groups and then large groups to gradually deplete your soldiers and resources and when they notice that, they will attack massively, or at least that has happened to me and I do not know if I'm crazy and schizophrenic, but they end up tiring, and that's just in the intermediate difficulty, I can not imagine how they will be in other difficulties. The point is that I was traumatized and practically left an army defending my villagers.

imagen.png


➤ In this game I was able to understand the entire game and there really isn't much complication, something that I didn't like is that there are very few civilizations, there are only 6-8. I feel that more variety was needed, I tried two of them and the difference in soldiers is quite noticeable but still not enough. But it's time to talk about the armies, we can create soldiers as we want, although we have a maximum population limit of up to 200, so we have to manage well and try to have soldiers that are useful for everything. Something I noticed is that the cavalry is extremely expensive to have in this game but also very useful, the resources are also somewhat slow to get but in the course of the game reaches a point where it is almost not noticeable. So let's admire my incredible army ready to destroy cities.

imagen.png


➤ And speaking of cities, look at the tremendous architect that I am, and something that left me dissatisfied is that I do not understand how they have already made more than 6 games only RTS and still are not able to PLEASE, MAKE THE BUILDINGS CAN BE ROTATED WHEN BUILDING THEM SO THAT THEY CAN ORDER THEM MUCH BETTER AND THAT EVERYTHING LOOKS MORE AESTHETIC, SERIOUSLY, I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY HURDLE. Although there is an automatic rotation of the buildings, it's not what I want. I remember that in Age of Mithology there was a mod that allowed you to change this and thanks to that you could create beautiful cities, but well, you have to work with what you have and that is not going to stop me from creating my perfect city.

imagen.png


➤ I think the last thing I can mention is the incredible wars that are formed between soldiers and it is that they look great with the graphics of the game and the amount of effects you can see in between, especially if you use artillery. In this game it was a disaster because I had to start attacking like crazy because I had forgotten to deactivate the victory by wonders, which is a way to win by building a giant building that you have to keep standing for 15 minutes and thus win the game. So there I was attacking and trying to destroy my enemy and his whole city.

imagen.png

imagen.png


➤ So far it's an amazing game and I'm enjoying playing the skirmish games, although I should start playing the campaign now. That's all for now, thank you very much for reading, see you in the next post!

All images are by me. 

Versión en Español


➤ Aunque el gran fuerte del juego en si es la campaña, yo soy un antisistema y yo voy y juego todo lo contrario, y es que lo que más me gusta de este tipo de juego son las partidas de escaramuza, básicamente las partidas libres donde solo tenemos que centrarnos en crear nuestra ciudad y ganar. No hay historia, no hay nadie que nos diga que hacer, no hay objetivos, ni algo que cumplir, solo buscar la victoria y ser el mejor. Puedes jugar como quieras y hacer lo que quieras, pero tiene que ser lo suficientemente bueno como para sobrevivir, y es que por alguna razón, aquí los bots son bastante inteligentes... Así que comencemos.

imagen.png


➤ A pesar de que es una nueva entrega, cuando hablamos de la jugabilidad es lo mismo que hemos visto alrededor de toda la saga, así que sí ya estás acostumbrado vas a ser bueno jugando de forma rápida, sabrás qué hacer y tendrás muchas nociones de cómo administrar mejor cada cosa, cómo construir tu ciudad y cómo buscar la victoria, y también para quejarte de cosas de las cuales ya estabas acostumbrado, como me pasó con las murallas. Soy amante de construir murallas en los Age of Empires, una ciudad sin murallas para mí no es una ciudad aparte que obviamente te pueden ayudar bastante para defenderte. Bueno, como en todos los juegos de la saga siempre se comienza con los muros más básicos y luego los puedes ir mejorando poco a poco, de muros de madera a muros de piedra. Aquí es todo lo contrario, los muros están separados, es decir, si yo coloco muros de madera no puedo mejorarlos y así se quedarán por siempre, hasta desbloquear los de piedra. Entonces si ya hice toda mi ciudad con muros de madera tengo que destrozarlos todos para poner los de piedra, y me parece absurdo porque no puedes ni siquiera sobreponerlos encima para así no tener que andar eliminando los anteriores, no, tienes que ir ahí manualmente a quitar todo.

imagen.png


➤ Y aquí ahora vamos a un punto a favor, y es que la inteligencia artificial es brutal pero a la vez estúpida, con esto me refiero a que mis soldados son imbéciles porque no hacen nada si yo no los mando, pero por otro lado, los enemigos cumplen con estrategias y te atacan de forma inteligente, y aunque esto ya pasaba en los otros juegos, aquí lo noto aún más. En cosas tan básicas como que los tipos son tan desgraciados que lo primero que irán a atacar serán a tus aldeanos que tengan descubiertos y te atacarán a dos flancos, un grupo de soldados que maten a tus aldeanos y otros que distraigan a tus soldados. Y estarán constantemente atacandote en grupos pequeños y luego grandes para ir poco a poco agotando tus soldados y recursos y cuando noten eso, atacarán de forma masiva, o al menos eso me ha pasado y no sé si es que yo estoy loco y esquizofrénico, pero terminan cansando, y eso que apenas es en la dificultad intermedia, no me imagino cómo serán en otras dificultades. El punto es que quedé traumado y prácticamente dejo un ejercito defendiendo a mis aldeanos.

imagen.png


➤ En esta partida pude comprender todo el juego completo y es que realmente no hay mucha complicación, algo que sí no me gustó es que hay muy pocas civilizaciones, son apenas como 6-8. Siento que hizo falta más variedad, probé dos de ellas y la diferencias de soldados se nota bastante pero aún así no es suficiente. Pero es hora de que hablemos de los ejercitos, podemos crear soldados como nos dé la gana, aunque tenemos un límite máximo de población de hasta 200, así que tenemos que administrarnos bien y buscar tener soldados que sirvan para todo. Algo que noté es que la caballeria es extremadamente cara de tener en este juego pero también muy util, los recursos también son algo lentos de conseguir pero en el transcurso de la partida llega un punto donde casi no se nota. Así que admiremos a mi increíble ejercito preparado para destrozar ciudades.

imagen.png


➤ Y hablando de ciudades, vean el tremendo arquitecto que soy, y es que algo que sí me dejó inconforme es que no entiendo cómo es que ya han hecho más de 6 juegos únicamente RTS y aún no son capaces de POR FAVOR, HACER QUE LOS EDIFICIOS SE PUEDAN ROTAR A LA HORA DE CONSTRUIRLOS PARA ASÍ ORDENAR MUCHO MEJOR LAS COSAS Y QUE TODO SE VEA MÁS ESTÉTICO, EN SERIO, NO ENTIENDO QUE LES CUESTA. Aunque existe una rotación automática de los edificios, no es lo que yo quiero. Recuerdo que en Age of Mithology existía un mod que te permitia cambiar esto y gracias a eso podías crear ciudades hermosa, pero bueno, uno tiene que resolver con lo que tiene y eso no me va a impedir crear mi perfecta ciudad.

imagen.png


➤ Creo que lo último que puedo mencionar es las increíbles guerras que se forman entre soldados y es que es ven geniales con los gráficos del juego y la cantidad de efectos que puedes ver de por medio, sobre todo si usas artilleria. En esta partida fue un desastre porque tuve que comenzar a atacar como loco porque había olvidado desactivar la victoria por maravillas, que es una forma de ganar construyendo un edificio gigante que tienen que mantener en pie durante 15 minutos y así ganan la partida. Así que ahí estuve atacando e intentando destrozar a mi enemigo junto a toda su ciudad.

imagen.png

imagen.png


➤ Hasta ahora es un juego increíble y me estoy disfrutando jugar las partidas de escaramuzas, aunque debo comenzar a jugar ahora la campaña. Esto es todo por ahora, muchas gracias por haber leído, ¡nos vemos en el próximo post!

All images are by me. 
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now