Waiting for my new baby to arrive...

Some might remember this post from a while back where I was showing off my new PC. I upgraded pretty much everything in my PC back then apart from my RAM and GPU. GPUs were hard to get a hold off back then and the price was skyrocketing as well. I decided my GTX 1070 would have to hold out for a while still.

That while has now passed. With stores around Norway suddenly being stocked up on GPUs I decided to throw money at one and finally get my upgrade. The GPUs I could choose between was:

  • MSI GeForce RTX3070Ti SUPRIM X - $1300
  • Asus GeForce RTX 3080 Turbo - $1650
  • Gainward GeForce RTX 3090 Phoenix - $3000

I didn't even consider the 3090. That's just to high of a price for me to pay for anything. The real choice was between the 3070Ti and the 3080, and after reading up on some reviews I decided the 3070Ti was the best fit for me. It will give me a decent boost of about +100% performance increase while still keeping my wallet somewhat intact. A good trade off. I would probably have gone straight for the 3080 if it wasn't a Turbo card. Those thing are just to noisy.


Komplett

Since I've been an lazy ass (to @emuse's big frustration) I haven't sold off my old PC yet. Once I get my new card I'm gonna put the GTX 1070 in that and finally sell it off. Just need to find some RMA for it and I should be able to sell it for a decent $700-800. I expect it to sell off fast seeing as a lot of kids will be receiving money for Christmas. I played the Witcher 3 with 60 FPS and Cyberpunk 2077 with 30-40 FPS so that will be my sales pitch.

Now I just need to wait in agony for it to arrive. The website said it should arrive by Wednesday but I have my doubts seeing as the postal service is going through hell these days. One can hope though. I'm not in a rush but the sooner the better.

I'm already refreshing the order status to see if they've sent it but so far it's been stuck at "processing" for a while...

image.png

Maybe now I can finally pick Cyberpunk 2077 back up seeing as my last playthrough got rekt by bugs. I told myself I would put it off until I got a new GPU. I will also be able to fully utilize the potential of my 144hz monitor for most games, including Final Fantasy XIV which I've been running at around 50 FPS at maximum settings. Every game is gonna be more enjoyable to play for sure.

I'll be back with an update on my games performances once it arrives. Until then stay safe and have a merry Christmas!


Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now