This Is The Story Of How I'm Going To Die - Project Zomboid

I've been playing a bit off Project Zomboid on and off lately. I have plans to maybe create some content for it on my YouTube channel down the line if it's a game I end up really enjoying. Technically you can say I've already been creating content for it since I've been putting out let's play episodes on my low effort channel already.


What is Project Zomboid?

Project Zomboid is an isometric zombie survival game with a high focus on realism. You have to eat and drink at regular intervals for a human while fulfilling all kinds of basic needs. Every part of your body can get hurt and you'll have to bandage it. You'll have to change the bandages when they get dirty to not risk infection. If an infection does happen you better find some antibiotics. If it's cold outside you might start coughing which could lead to more serious diseases. If you cough you can use rags or toilet papers to muffle the sounds of it.

The things mentioned above are just a few of the thousands of mechanics that make up the realism in this game. To a brand new player all of this can be quite overwhelming and I can safely say I've been on the receiving end of that. One bad choice can cause your demise which means you'll have to start over with a new character. The learning curve is steep and the only way to learn is by making mistake and learning from them. Sadly, most mistakes will lead to death.

vlcsnap-2023-08-13-19h15m43s588.png

Technically you can say that the whole is about dying. Whenever you start up a game you are greeted with the text "This is how you died." The game basically tells the story of how you died in the zombie apocalypse. You can try as hard as you can to survive for as long as you can but eventually your day will come. Everything leading up to that is the story of how you died. This is pretty unique and I do have to say that I love it.


My journey

My journey has been a rough one so far. I've died a few times already and I'm currently on a run where I've managed to survive for four in game days. That's my personal record. In my first game I barely managed to live for a few hours before being eaten by the hordes. In my second game I managed even less than that.

I try to learn something from each one of my deaths and I noticed that it's basically turning into a list of rules to live by. Kind of like the movie Zombieland. So har the list looks like this:

  1. Eat food even when you're not hungry.
  2. Always have a water bottle on your person.
  3. Don't pick a fight unless you have to.
  4. Don't fight more than 3 zombies at once unless you have to.
  5. No running. Walking is already faster than zombies movement speed and running only attracts more zombies.

vlcsnap-2023-08-13-20h33m42s375.png

Abiding by these rules have managed to keep me alive for four days now. There has been a few close calls but I've somehow managed to scrape through, albeit barely. I've set up base in a small abandoned house but it looks like I'm going to move my stuff over to the fire station that I recently discovered. It looks like a much more fortified building and its not in the same dense area as my earlier base. It also has all the facilities I should need to survive for a while like a kitchen, a bed and plenty of water, tools and weapons.


Tag along on my journey

If you want to tag along on my journey you can follow the let's play episodes that I'm putting out daily on my low effort YouTube channel. I currently have six episodes up and more are coming out daily. I try to keep them at around 30 minutes long although I do get carried away sometimes and forget to look at the time. Feel free to subscribe, like the videos and drop a comment on them if you feel like it.


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

!
5.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center