Lost Light BIG Global Launch Update - New Guns, New Locations

Lost Light has had its biggest update yet and is now launched globally on PC and mobile! These news deserve their own video.

As always I'll be dropping votes for people in the comments who either subscribe to my channel, like my videos on YouTube, comment on them or all three. Just let me know in the comments to this post if you did any of those!

Lost Light BIG Global Launch Update - New Guns, New Locations

Behind the scenes

I tried to be quick with making this video after the update dropped. Being early with things like these is quite important when it comes to getting your video discovered. If someone else drops the same video they're gonna have a head start in being picked up by the YouTube recommendation system and will be recommended to more people than my late video.

I couldn't rush it though and had to play the update for a bit to get some footage of all the new stuff. I posted the video two days after the update and it has now been live for a little over six days. In that time it has gotten almost a 1000 views and the numbers are still climbing. This video alone has also gotten me 9 more subscribers which is pretty awesome.

image.png

One thing that's not so awesome though is the fact that competition is through the roof for Lost Light on YouTube. It used to rank in the 70s for search volume and in low/very low for competition. Those numbers are now at 80 and Very High which means the search term is getting more saturated resulting in less views for me. Still I've profited highly from the games boom in popularity and I've gotten close to 100 new subscribers since the new patch launched which is really awesome.

image.png

Luckily since I'm getting subscribers from my videos about Lost Light that means I have people who want to watch my videos specifically. So, when I release now ones I'll get a decent amount of views which will make YouTube recommend my videos to more people. I really like YouTubes feature of recommending your videos to 7 more people for every view you get. It means everyone has a chance to get their videos seen.

Lost Light Thumbnail.jpg

The plan for my next few videos is to create loot guides about the different maps. Once that's done I'm probably putting this game to rest for a while. It's a good game but there's a few issues that's making quite annoyed. The fact that it's a mobile game ported to PC is really starting to shine through now that I'm closing in on 50 hours played.

I'm a little worried that moving away from Lost Light and into something else will hurt my channel but I'll just have to see how it goes. I've gotten so many subscribers from Lost Light and Century: Age of Ashes who are probably expecting more videos about those games that they might be turned off when they see new games. I notice that every time I publish a video about Lost Light I lose a sub or two who probably subscribed for Century.

That's probably gonna be the norm going forward as I explore YouTube and try to settle into a format. In time people will understand that my channel is more about free-to-play gaming in general and not about focusing on singular games.

I have kind of done this to myself though seeing as I've been chasing the views with Lost Light. I've kind of gotten greedy for what pulls in the views that I've lost track of what the real focus of the channel was meant to be. I'm gonna go down this rabbit hole a few more steps before pivoting back to what I want the channels focus to be. Let's hope it won't be devastating.

This is something I could rant on and on about for probably a thousand more words so I'll leave it there.

Enjoy the video!


All images in this post are screenshots taken by me.

Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog | Twitch | YouTube

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center