Introducing @emuse To The All Time Classic: Left 4 Dead 2

There's no doubt that Left 4 Dead 2 is one of the most successful games of it time and especially within its genre. This game is 14 years old and still comfortably sits in the top 25 of current players on Steam. At this very moment there are more than 25,000 people playing the game. It's unrivaled.

L4D2THUMB.jpg


Gaming evolved

A few months ago @emuse bought herself a proper gaming laptop. With a 3070 GPU and I9 processor it's almost as strong as my desktop which does leave a sour taste in my mouth that I'll just have to swallow. After playing the Sims 4 for close to 2000 hours on her decade old MacBook Air it was time to level up. The sour taste in my mouth didn't go away from the fact that she kept on playing the Sims 4 with this beast of a laptop. I felt like I was living the meme.

Luckily it didn't take long for her to branch out. she mostly played the Sims for a bit to see how it played after spending almost 2000 hours with 10 FPS and the settings turned all the way down. I get it. I would probably do the same. She eventually branched out to Planet Zoo, CS:GO and PUBG. We had a lot of fun playing PUBG together.

Since she had gotten an interest in games and I know she loves zombies I decided it was time to introduce her to an all time classic. Left 4 Dead 2. It was on sale during the Steam Summer Sale for a whopping $1 so I decided to gift it to her. About a week later and we have now been playing it for around 2 hours every night.

20230724230153_2.jpg


A brand new experience

@emuse has been loving it and so have I. Since she's not used to playing games like these we started out on the easy difficulty but have later moved on to normal difficulty. It's just the two of us playing so we're being held back by the less than perfect AI of the bots. The decision making of these bots are rage inducing at times.

So far we're about halfway through the game. We've beaten all of the Left 4 Dead 2 campaigns and are now working our way through the original Left 4 Dead campaigns that have been ported into Left 4 Dead 2. Apart from a short stint with @therealflaws a few years ago where we played 2 or 3 campaings it's been more than 10 years since I played any of these campaigns and I can barely remember anything about them. I would probably have gotten bored already if I had them all memorized.

For @emuse this is a brand new experience and I really envy her that. It must feel so amazing to play a game like Left 4 Dead 2 for the first time. It's also really enjoyable watching her getting better at the game and understanding more about it. In the beginning she had to focus on shooting only while slowly grasping all of the games mechanics.

20230725195647_1.jpg


What's next?

After finishing Left 4 Dead 2 we will most likely try to find other games to move on to. Back 4 Blood is out there as a very similar game made by the same people. Even though it was poorly received I'm pretty sure we would have a lot of fun playing it. There's no way we're buying this at the full price of $70 so we're holding out for a sale. I've seen it down to around $10 so we're going to stay patient. We've also had a loot at World War Z and might try that out.

If anyone has any recommendations to similar games to Left 4 Dead 2 or other kinds of zombie games with multiplayer games then feel free to give us a shout. We want all the recommendations we can get.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center