Spike Roadblock Challenge - Challenger Series in NFS Most Wanted (2005)

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!





I have been playing a modded version of Need for Speed Most Wanted for a long time. It has many extra options including a lot of new cars, cops and intense pursuits and much more. But I missed the vanilla pursuit so I played one of the challenger series events where I had to successfully evade after dodging 10 Spike stripes.

These roadblocks are tough and most of the time they are what ends a long pursuit. You are driving at 250 or 300Kmph and suddenly you come across some spikes on the ground. There won't be enough time to dodge sometimes and your tires get busted.

I had a fairly close call like that.


I was saved by this concrete divider or two of my tires would be useless and that would have ended my run in a few seconds.

I recorded the video for my YouTube channel as I am trying to upload more quality videos there to grow my YouTube too. I would appreciate it if you watched the video, liked it, and told me which part of the chase you liked the most in the comments on that video. Here is the complete chase. Enjoy!


This was a heat 5 which is the highest heat level it goes in free roam. You will be chased by Chevrolet Corvette Federal Cruisers along with the occasional heavy SUVs that ram into your vehicle. The air support is also quite frequent at this heat level. But the most dangerous are the roadblocks with spike stripes and they are fairly frequent as well.

Those SUVs that hit you from the front are very annoying and I had some close calls with that.


In this specific challenger series event, the aim was to cross at least 10 of those spiked roadblocks. I was trying to do it as quickly as I could. You don't have the control to choose your cars for these challenges. The game gives you a specific car every time. Luckily this white sportscar was quite fast and heavy. The top speed could have been better but the acceleration wasn't bad.

You can see me cross 340 Kmph at one point in this chase. The motion blur is a bit too strong for this game. I do like the motion blur in racing games, it makes you feel you are going faster than you are... but in this old game it was a bit too much and that's why I used a mod to reduce this motion blur. There is still a bit of motion blur which makes it look good. You can see it really well when I take a screenshot from the gameplay video.


The best thing about the game is your car doesn't get totalled and you feel overpowered. The traffic cars go flying when you hit them and so do most of the cop cars. Heavy SUVs are a bit of a challenge. But nothing a high-speed impact can flip.


I did a cool 360 backflip after hitting that above SUV. I still had some momentum going my way and it was really a cool stunt. Love the way the police cars flip in this game.

As soon as I completed the objective of dodging 10 spiked roadblocks. I tried to hide and cool down. But Cross came in and chased me everywhere. He sometimes shows up in these intense chases and is hard to get off your tail. It took me another couple of minutes just to get rid of him.


My final time was 9:50 and the hiding spot near the petrol pump was a good spot. The cooldown was fairly quick once you were in one of those hiding spots. The only use is sometimes if you get in these spots before the cooldown starts you have to get out and come back in to trigger the hiding bonus. I have had a lot of unsuccessful runs just because of this weird bug in this game. That's why earlier in this run that Cross was able to get inside this hiding spot lol.


Let me know if you liked the post. If you have any suggestions to improve my videos or post quality, let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

Until the next chase...



  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, Need for Speed Most Wanted (2005).
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now