New Characters and Stage unlocked | HoloCure: Save the Fans!

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!





HoloCure is a free Roguelite shoot-em-up game inspired by Vampire Survivor and Magic Survival, and I am having a blast playing it. This has quickly become one of my favourite games in this genre. I have been playing it for a couple of weeks now, but not as frequently as I was last week.

I want to update you on my progress and share more gameplay videos using two different characters.


I have been earning a lot of HoloCoins and putting most of it on my stats upgrades and once in a while on unlocking a new character. The character acquisition is not guaranteed, you spend 1000 coins and if you are lucky you will unlock a character from the set but more often than not you will get a new cosmetic which doesn't help with the gameplay. Also, if you get the same character it will level up.


I went with Geno O and unlocked a new character. You will see a run with her later in the video. But first, I went with the Ceres Fauna. She attacks with leaves that spiral outwards in all directions. This is a good change from an omnidirectional weapon or weapons dealing damage in arcs.


I played Stage 4 to test it out. I thought it would be perfect for testing it out. Not too hard or easy at the same time. It was going well but it lacked the punch in clutch situations. It takes a lot of time to kill the bosses as her special attack only grants her invincibility not any attack boost for a short duration. Invincibility for 10 seconds sounds great but eventually, those bosses will be too hard for her to deal with.


Even though she fails to deliver high damage, she could be great for the easy levels, especially when doing a no-movement challenge. Because of her spiral attack, she can take on a lot of weaker enemies without moving. I will test that later and see if I can make a good afk build with her (bosses will still be a headache though).

Time for my gameplay video. Here is the complete session with a few failed attempts. Eventually, I was able to clear Stage 1 (Hard).


After a couple of unsuccessful runs with Ceres Fauna, I went to the shop to unlock a new character. I got Hoshimachi Suisei', she has good attack and speed with a really nice starting crit chance of 10%. She uses an Axe which she swings in an arc in front. And the special attack is bizarre but really effective.


She summons a rain of falling blocks which deal 3x damage for 5 seconds and also flattens them so they can't move for 5 seconds. This is very effective against bosses. Useful in both attacking and defensive approaches.

I was confident so I went with the harder level, Grassy Plains (Night).


It was all going smoothly until I chose the item which increased my attack by 30% but gave me 30% more damage. That was a poor choice and I got punished quickly. She doesn't have enough max health for that and I wasn't focusing on healing in the first run. It got cut short as I failed this stage.

But on the second attempt, I was more informed... I knew about her three unique skills, and how she gets the insane 'always crits' hits with level 7 of her axe upgrade. So, increasing the damage of those crits was really helpful.


Her specials were working well against the bosses. Both the bosses at 10 mins were easy to handle as the raining blocks squished them and made them unable to move.


Even when these enemies are squished, they continue to attack normally. Dodging the bullets in the final minute of the run was a bit stressful. But the collab weapons made it really easy. A big whirlpool helped me a lot. Defeating the 20-minute boss cleared this stage.

After the run, I upgraded a couple of my stats.


Now, I have 4% more max hp and the special attack cooldown is further reduced to 3%. It doesn't seem like a lot but they help in longer runs.

I have yet to clear stages 2, 3 and 4 on Hard difficulty. I still have a lot of achievements left to unlock as well. I completed only about 20% of them so far.

Thanks for reading!

Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, HoloCure - Save the Fans.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center