A lost Ghost Hunter - Story mission in Vurhonga Savanna | theHunter: Call of the Wild

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!



In my previous post on Vurhongha Savannah, a reserve in theHunter: Call of the Wild. I did a mission where I had to collect some water samples from the swamp for deadly microorganisms in the water. I am continuing the main missions in this map and today, we have got an interesting one.

A self-proclaimed ghost hunter, Gustav Baden, entered this reserve a couple of days ago in search of ghosts and fame on the internet. But he hasn't reported to the Warden for long and we fear something is wrong. So, the warden of the reserve wants me to travel to his camp and look for him.

This location was on the southern edge of the map, very close to the river. This was uncharted territory for me too.


The nearest outpost was more than two kilometres away so I decided to fast-travel to the outpost and take out my Quad bike. The ATV is perfect for this place. Most of it is flat open plains and it is really fun to drive around in the ATV. The only downside is that it makes too much noise and the animals run away hearing the loud engine noise.

But as I was just going to hop on this ATV, I heard some warning calls. They were coming from the nearby lake. It was a group of Blue Wilderbeast.


They weren't that far either and one of them had the 'Gold' fur type and that became my target. I knew I could only get one good shot. They ran fast and for the moment they were calm.

I fired from my 7 mm rifle and took it out. It died fairly quickly too. A lung shot from a powerful weapon would do that.


It was a nice gold. I wanted to taxidermise it for my trophy lodge but I was running low on cash so I just grabbed it.

Now, back to the mission. I keep distracting myself. Baden's camp was more than 2 kilometres away.


On the way there was a 'point of interest' thingy, on getting closer to it... that turned out to be a place to set up a hunting structure. I paid some cash to build this tall tower.


This hunting stand is really good, it conceals you from the animals and gives you a better view over the plains. I took a picture to show you how better it is to hunt from this elevated platform.


The next stop was an outpost that I wanted to claim. It was in my path too. If I am going that far, I better be unlocking some more outposts too...right?


And now my task was to go downhill. This rarely turns out good for my ATV. Most of the time when I am going downhill, I flip it a couple of times and damage it a lot. Sometimes so much that it catches on fire.


This time I had a bit more controlled approach but I still flipped it at the end. But the damage was minimal this time.

I was approaching close to the camp and saw a big road dividing the plains in half. On each side of the road were tall grasses. All of a sudden, I saw a couple of Warthogs cross the road in panic.


I chased them with my ATV and tried to run over them but it didn't work. Ironically, it was me who was taking damage with each collision.


I got out of the ATV and shot one of them with my handgun. I wanted to increase my handgun score (so I can put a scope on it) and that's why I tried to kill it with that but it was not an appropriate weapon. I had to take multiple shots to kill just one of them. If I had my shotgun with me, it would be more than one. But you can only carry a limited number of guns due to the weight restriction.


This was a little side adventure and I had fun going after these Warthogs. They blend well in the grass and run quite fast with their tiny legs.

Now back to the mission. I was very close to the camp and it didn't take much to get there. I found the camp but Baden was not there. Where did he go?


Upon investigating the campsite, we found a letter in the camp. This was from Baden where he mentioned that he had been drinking with some local hunters and he drank too much. When he woke up he lost a lot of gear (possibly stolen by the local hunters) but he has his camera and will continue his mission.

These local hunters also talked about some local fungi which can help Baden see the Eloko (that's the ghost he has been looking for).

This letter is concerning, especially when there are reports of poachers in this reserve. For now, we don't have any whereabouts of his location and this finished the mission. The next story's mission seems to be unrelated to this one. Maybe we will continue to search for Baden after that mission.


While I was here, I decided to complete another side mission. This was fairly simple and easy. I had to take a picture of an animal in this region. There was a lake close by and these are good places to look for animals. I found a couple of Wildebeest on the other side of the lake. I took their pictures which were quite far and it still completed the mission.

That was it from this time. I will continue this story in my next post.

Thanks for reading...

Until the next mission...

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, theHunter: Call of the Wild.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center