ABZU Walkthrough and Showcase — A game that blurs the line between video game and art

But from an outward glance, it looked like an exploration game. I'm more of an open-world kinda dude and usually I play games to blast off enemies. Not to appreciate the artwork of games. But this time, it felt really appealing I decided to give it a try.

At the very beginning, the character of the game, or I, wakes up in the ocean. It's hard to tell whether I'm human or any other race. It's also hard to tell whether the ocean I'm diving in is on the earth or any other place. But soon familiar fauna and flora can be seen.

Untitled1.jpg

There's no Hud in the game. There's no direction. But the tutorial in the beginning does say what buttons to press. And it seems I can hitchhike or latch on a big fish to go where it goes. Pretty nice! On the back of a Goliath trout and I find myself in a dark place. Then through a tunnel I came to this even more absurd of a world.

Screenshot 63.png

Here I'm swimming through the space and the water is the land. I powerup the device in the middle and the whole dark place bustles with light and green life!

Screenshot 75.png

I keep exploring. Another tunnel. And on the walls of it, there are some paintings that looked very archaic. I later learned that the game was inspired by sumerian mythology. The name ABZU means deep water.

Screenshot 77.png

Then a vast body of water engulfs me. The serenity everywhere is breathtaking.

Screenshot 80.png

There are some artifacts and doors here and there. Perhaps belonged to long forgotten civilization that lived underwater. Through such a door.... a current takes me!

Screenshot 82.png

I come to another place. Red flora with multicolored fauna occupies this place.

Screenshot 91.png

Here I found a robot. Possibly belongs to the same civilization. I got one before but that one was devoured by a shark. They can be used to clear of roads sometimes.

Screenshot 93.png

What's down there? Ah a statue of a shark! Getting near, it asked me whether I want to do mediation. I did. In meditation mode you can take any fishes perspective and hop around one from the other. I think the concept is cool but I liked free roaming by myself more.

Screenshot 95.png

Like how I'm running with a pod of common dolphin. Oh if you latch on an marine animal, it shows what species is that.

Screenshot 94.png

After that I keep continue on my journey and find myself in another strong current. Suddenly, a pod of orcas are all around me!
I don't feel threatened as I know Orcas are just dolphins and they do not harm humans. or whatever species I am here.

Screenshot 106.png

And then I come to another dark place, similar to the earlier one.

Screenshot 113.png

I know what to do now. I approach the light gate.

Screenshot 115.png

It takes me to the same reverse world. Pretty unearthly!
Screenshot 116.png

I activate the portal/gate/key with something from me and the whole place fills up with light with orcas jumping around!

Screenshot 119.png

Screenshot 121.png

Then I move on. Look, there seems to be another gate.
Screenshot 123.png


So, this is how far I've been in the game and I don't know how long it is and what exactly the story is. The game doesn't have any dialogues. The glimpes of story I see is through the visual storytelling. This is keeping the sense of adventure and mystery alive though!

I absolutely loved how breathtakingly beautiful the game world is! The music is also soothing, making the experience a calming one. Sort of like meditaion.

I will definitely play some more.

divider 1.png

About Me


hive format 2.jpg


Hive footer notacinephile.gif

Twitter - https://twitter.com/not_a_c1nephile
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCg3TwYk--HKIsRmnvhob1Mg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center