Gaming PC parts gone but new gaming laptop received

Sup Hive gamers.

I've been gone a long time. In that time I've got a new job which I am absolutely loving. I've been hired as a consultant for an ecommerce platform (quite a large one) and have been tasked with setting up a new department. First of all I had to prove that the department was what the company was lacking. I have done this in bucket loads (hence the MIA from Hive). I've helped the platform land some serious marquee clients, think Harrods in London size and brand. I've also produced solutions for the platform that never existed in their eco system that allows them to operate in markets they didn't even know existed.

To say I am happy with the work done so far is an understatement.

But whats all that got to do with gaming?

I had bought up some pretty good parts to build my own gaming rig. These included an i7 9700k processor, 32gb of ram, 500gb m2 storage, rog strix mainboard (cant remember the model no)1000w power supply, and I had 2 x rog strix rx580 t8g's to throw in there, We picked up a nice Corsair case (spec delta Carbide Series) and a Be quiet pure rock2 Black CPU cooled to complete the bark look we wanted . I mean its not ultra high level but man it was good enough for me. Needles to say this has now been acquired by my middle son Double A Ron. He is happy out! Being that it is his first gaming PC.

Couple of bad pics below:
AA pc case side.jpg
AA pc case front.jpg

But that means that I had no gaming pc for myself! Thankfully the new job gave me a second hand 14" hp laptop which is really trash. It only lasted me a couple of months and started to fail with my workload. I managed to find an MSI laptop that fell into the budget I was given for a new machine. The code is GF65 Thin.
laptop.jpg
Stock image above as my one is already dusty LOL.

The spec on that is:
Processor - Intel Core i7 10750H
Screen size - 15.6 Inch Full HD 144Hz Screen
Graphics card - GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
RAM - 8GB
SSD - 512GB

So not too shabby. It will get me over a gaming hump. I've tested with COD warzone and GTA V and all in all it holds up reasonably well. I will probably go ahead and build up a better pc in the future. But for now, as with most expendable income, the house is still eating every spare cent we have.

So hive gaming, whats your thoughts?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now