Vampire Survivors | Checking out the newly updated area!

vampyheader.png

Vampire Survivors received an update today!

What is Vampire Survivors? ~ I'm glad you asked! I wrote a post about it just a week ago, feel free to click that link and give it a quick read. 😁 Don't want to click? That's fine:

Vampire Survivors is a bullet-hell action roguelike that's got hideous MS-DOS Apogee-styled graphics but is the most addictive fun in any game available at the moment! My personal opinion, of course.

It's in early access but has been very, very well received with 77,000 concurrent players and a mass of overwhelmingly positive reviews. It's not often early access games are held in such high esteem. I, for one, usually disdain the things after being burnt so many times!

20220303141859_1.jpg

So, what is this update?

It's only a small update in the greater scheme of things -- the update adds a new area to the game and also a few new achievements to collect -- but it's fun and I was more than willing to check it out. In order to unlock the new area you need to reach a minimum level of 40 in the Library map.

The Library map so far has been my favourite map! Here, I captured 50 seconds of endgame gameplay for your perusal.
Β 

Β 
And today, for the first time, while getting myself a high level in order to check out this new area, also actually "completed" the stage instead of dying! Apparently once you get over 30 minutes without dying, you win -- woo!

With that win under my belt, it was time to spend my hard-earned gold on some power ups...

20220303141904_1.jpg

...and continue on with the game. It was time to check out the new area!

So far I've only tried the first two areas. Apparently there's a secret hidden area that I haven't unlocked yet.

20220303142311_1.jpg

The Mad Forest is pretty mad; I haven't been able to last longer than 20 minutes there. It's more open than the Library and there's a lot more chance of things going wrong. The Library is fantastic for farming gold to buy the power-ups; the main thing you need to watch out for is some exploding lady-ghosts.

Now it's time to see what this new Dairy Plant has to offer.

According to the little blurb there is a magic map hidden in this area. Let's see if I can find it!

20220303142711_1.jpg

My first impressions of this new Dairy Plant is that it's open like the Mad Forest. There's an arrow flashing on the screen so I guess that's why I'm supposed to go. So I just follow the arrow.

Due to the open-ness of this particular map, it's harder to gather all the XP crystals required and soon the enemies are too strong for my little lady to resist.

20220303143100_1.jpg

So I decided to try again, this time with a different character. I've been living in the Cleric's shoes since I first unlocked her so now it was time to try someone else.

20220303145127_1.jpg

In order to try someone else, I went back to the Library and farmed up a bunch of gold so I could buy some of my currently locked people, in case one of them seemed well suited for this type of map.

I was debating between Gennaro and Krochi. Gennaro has more projectile abilities whislt Krochi has a revive ability allowing me to continue on after my first death.

And ended up discovering and choosing another character I unlocked instead. A witch who summons lightning.

20220303153541_1.jpg

With this Wicked Witch of the Lightning, I actually completed the Library stage again! And learnt that if I have both the white bird and the black bird abilities active at the same time, they will evolve into a super bird ability!

20220303155920_1.jpg

With my new lightning witch in hand, I attempted the Dairy Plant once more!

...

...

20220303160930_1.jpg

And even though I was able to level up faster with this character, I still died relatively quickly. πŸ˜…

The new area is definitely more difficult than the other two! But it's still fun. This game is the best $4 I've spent in a long time.

You can find it on the Steam Store here!

Β 

Until next time!! πŸ˜„βš”οΈ

Β 


Β 

All screenshots in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and are from the game: Vampire Survivors.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center