VG Music Covers You Should Listen To: Smooth McGroove

         There are many artists who perform covers to video game music. Many of us have seen the countless ones involving guitars, pianos, and whatnot. But, has anyone heard of video game music via a cappella? If you haven't, you are missing out.

         Usually, when I hear a cappella, I imagine something like this google search result:

         That is, until I came across Smooth McGroove several years ago. In case you couldn't tell, that is this artist's stage name. I discovered him on YouTube from one of their recommendations. I haven't regretted it since. Turns out, a cappella does not require a group of people even in its definition.

         Some refers to him as the A Cappella Viking Jesus, or variations of that involving the name Nintendo. His works, though, are not limited to video games published by Nintendo. In short, the wonders of technology allowed the artist to perform a cappella all by himself. Sometimes, his cat accompanies him.

         The first work of his that won me over was his rendition of Guile's Theme.

         I liked it so much that it became my custom tank theme on Left 4 Dead 2 years back. I'm pretty sure it stayed that way. But to highlight some of his vocal prowess, I loved this Deltarune piece. Pay attention especially around 0:55 mark.

         This man is almost 50 years old, but he kept his youthful appearance. He sings with energy and a passion that shows he enjoys what he does. Give him a listen. You might like him enough to support his work as well!

         I know I'm a fan.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center