Hive Gaming Community - Worst Gaming Experience - Not The Game I Wanted!

wordtgaimnigcover.jpg


Hey Hive Gaming community!

This my entry for the newest Hive Gaming Community Contest, check it out if you want to participate. You can read all about it here. I do not have a lot of bad experiences with games, but I remember one that was very disappointing for me, I'll share this painful moment with you.


I invite you to listen to this sad music while you read the post:

sadmusic.gif

src


This experienced happened around 2003. At that time I had an original Xbox, I remember me and my brother saved to buy the "crystal edition", it was a normal Xbox but with transparent plastic. The controller was cool though. By this time I was buying only original games for the Xbox, I have had an awful experience buying pirate games and since I was planning to work in the gaming industry in the future my ethics told me it was not cool to sabotage my future job haha.

image.png

Source and Cool Unboxing Video

In my town there were not a lot of shops that sold original games at that time so every opportunity that I had to get out of my town, to Mexico City or to Cuernavaca I asked my parents if we could visit a shop to see if there were cool games. I have to say that I did not have a lot of spare money for this hobby and neither my parents so only in rare occasions I was able to buy games.

image.png

src

Also in those years I was a vivid reader and collector of a video game magazine called "Atomix", this was one of the most popular magazines at the time before the internet displaced them all. Atomix covered all console games and also PC, I liked reading the reviews, news and updated on the gaming world. I've always liked RPGs aso I was always looking for information in these type of games, one day I saw a review for a game called Dungeons and Dragons.

image.png

src

I was not a perfect review but the game caught my attention, it had four player co-op, you could level up and also you could choose between different characters. Now that I think about it, it was like a Dark Alliance game. I wanted that game! And I was going to move mountains to get it!

image.png

src

A Short Gameplay:

On a trip to Cuernavaca, the capital city of my state we visited a Sanborns, this is a very popular store in Mexico where they sell from chocolates, to iPads, they also have a restaurant and the stores are owned by Carlos Slim, one of the richest men alive and the richest in Mexico as far as I know. On the store I could not find the game I was looking for but I found one similar, or that's what I thought.

image.png

src

I've always been an impatient person and when I was younger I was even more impatient and I craved instant gratification, I just could not wait... So I bought the game, the name was Magic The Gathering Battlegrounds, I think I decided to buy it because it was from the same studio or something like that. They were both published by ATARI.

image.png

src

First few minutes in the game I was very disappointed, I had spent my only opportunity in a long time to buy a game, and on this one was clearly not what I wanted. I tried to convince myself that the game was not that bad, so I continued playing, I was not successful. It was not that the game was awful, but it was not what I thought, I was not a fan of Magic The Gathering I think that by that time I had never played it or knew too little about it.

Now that I'm watching it again it's similar to Clash Royale and a little bi like @Splinterlands.

I remember that after few weeks I returned to the store and sadly there were no exchanges, and I was not able to sell or change the game. I can't remember what happened to it, maybe I exchanged it for pennies on my local Blockbuster, I don't know.

This experience taught me that it's better to wait for better opportunities and avoid instant gratification.


Which is your #worstgamingexperience?

Share it on the Hive Gaming Community for a chance to win 20 HIVE.


Main Image Source edited with https://www.photopea.com/

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about #HIVE.

image.png

@eddiespino

All contact details are on my link tree: https://linktr.ee/eddiespino

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center