Assassin's Creed: Valhalla - It's going to be a blood bath

20201115.png

My screenshot

A massive adventure awaits

pageBreak.png

I haven't played an Assassin's Creed game since the very first one and I didn't realize there were so many of them released over the years. The first one was pretty cool, but didn't really interest me that much at the time. When they announced Valhalla being released, I knew that was one of the games that I could get into since I love vikings and their mythology.

20201115 5.png

My screenshot

This game is amazing looking and optimized for the next gen consoles, so I wanted to see how my gaming laptop would be able to handle it. So I ran a benchmark test for the game and my laptop did pretty well. It averaged 58 FPS with the graphics on high. I still had some free VRAM, so I could probably bump up the graphics a bit if I really wanted to, but I will just see how it all plays on the recommended settings.

The beginning

pageBreak.png

The game starts out by an ancient seer telling about the beginning of time.

20201115 6.png

My screenshot

Ymir was the first being and created the rest of the world. Here is an excerpt from one of the poems about Ymir and creation:

From Ymir’s flesh the earth was created,
And from his sweat [or, in some versions, blood] the sea,
Mountains from bone,
Trees from hair,
And from his skull the sky.

And from his eyebrows the blithe gods made
Midgard, home of the sons of men
And from his brains
They sculpted the grim clouds.

20201115 7.png

My screenshot

As the seer is speaking, the camera travels through the mist of a forest and brings you to a lodge where a group of Vikings are gathered together for a celebration.

20201115 11.png

My screenshot

You play as a young Viking named Eivor. The gathering is a meeting between two clans, where your father Varin speaks with you about presenting the king a gift that will unite the two clans as allies.

20201115 10.png

My screenshot

You travel through the crowd being introduced to a few people. When you get to the king, you present him with the cord that will unite them.

20201115 17.png

My screenshot

After you present the gift, the party is quickly broken up by someone saying that the village is being attacked by a rival clan.

20201115 22.png

My screenshot

The battle is pretty awesome. I love watching shows about Vikings and how they fight and the game seems to portray it perfectly.

20201115 28.png

My screenshot

Eivor's mom is a badass and kills a bunch of different people while trying to protect the village.

20201115 41.png

My screenshot

Eivor's dad Varin makes a deal with the leader of the invading clan to give up his life in exchange for the safety of the rest of the clan.

20201115 46.png

My screenshot

Kjotve the Cruel gives his word that he will not harm anyone else, but after he kills Varin, he kills Eivor's mom as well and then tries to kill him and the rest of the clan.

20201115 47.png

My screenshot

Eivor escapes with the help of the king's son and they ride off as arrows fly past them.

20201115 49.png

My screenshot

Some random dude pops out of a bush and bumps into the horse, sending the horse and Eivor off a cliff and landing on a frozen pond.

20201115 52.png

My screenshot

The horse doesn't make it and falls through the ice, leaving Eivor to fend for himself. If things couldn't seem to get any worse, a wolf sees him out on the ice and decides it wants to eat him.

20201115 56.png

My screenshot

It bites down on his neck and then things start to get weird because the whole Assassin's Creed simulation thing starts and the world begins to glitch out.

20201115 61.png

My screenshot

One of the things that I always thought was a bit weird in the AC game was the whole simulation thing and that if I remember right, it is sort of like time traveling or something and being able to view the events that happened in a person's life. I don't really remember it too much and I thought it was a weird concept at the time, but now I am more drawn to this type of concept because it is pretty cool.

20201115 68.png

My screenshot

So after fighting the wolf, time goes forward to when Eivor is an adult and he was captured by the guy that killed his family. Kjotve decides that instead of killing him, he is going to sell him as a slave.

20201115 69.png

My screenshot

Well, the whole slave thing doesn't go as planned and when Kjotve leaves, Eivor is able to kill the people that were trying to sell him and now he is on a quest to find Kjotve the Cruel and get his revenge.

20201115 73.png

My screenshot

And this is where the real story of the games seems to begin as you set out to rescue your crew and get revenge for your family and your clan.

The game seems like it is going to be pretty cool. I heard that it is pretty massive and I hope that it is able to live up to the hype. Some of the reviews I have heard about the game are that it is not as good as some of the past ones, but I didn't play those other ones, so I am sure I will think it is pretty cool.

I am also going to be getting Assassin's Creed: Odyssey and trying that game out because that is supposed to be the best one. I was originally going to get that one and play it first because I saw it was included in the Ubisoft Plus before I saw that Valhalla was, but I had to play Valhalla first though because of my love for Vikings.

I am going to be getting my streaming stuff set up today so that I can stream some of my gameplay for this game, so hopefully it all works like it is supposed to. If streaming and playing the game on high settings gets to be too much for my laptop, I may just end up playing it without trying to stream because I am really liking how amazing this game looks and I won't want to play on lower settings.

So if you are a gaming fan, make sure to follow me for updates on this game and some of the others that I am going to be playing. Thank you for stopping by and for the support. You are awesome.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center