This content was muted by Hive Gaming moderators for not following community guidelines.

The Outer Worlds: Spacer’s Choice Edition gameplay and first impressions

thumbnail.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

It's not the best choice, it's Spacer's Choice 🪐🌝🔫

I was so hyped when I saw that The Outer Worlds: Spacer's Choice Edition was getting added to the PS Plus game catalog. I've had my eyes on this game for years, but have never pulled the trigger on it. My patience has finally paid off!

I have wanted to play The Outer Worlds since it was first released back in 2019. It comes from Obsidian, the famed developers of Fallout: New Vegas. The best way to describe this game is Fallout with a heavy dose of Sci-Fi. That's how it looked to me from afar and I'm pleased that's exactly how it plays. If Starfield seems too overwhelming or you are like me and play on PlayStation, then The Outer Worlds is your #1 option for a Fallout game in space. Some might even argue that this is a better game than Starfield, but I will not go there.

The Outer Worlds: Spacer’s Choice Edition is a re-release of The Outer Worlds, featuring the base game upgraded for next-gen consoles, along with additional content and expansions. The Spacer’s Choice Edition includes the Peril on Gorgon expansion, which introduces a new narrative arc, locations, and characters to the game, expanding the player's experience within the universe. Additionally, it incorporates The Outer Worlds: Murder on Eridanos expansion, offering further narrative-driven content, quests, and areas to explore. The Spacer’s Choice Edition provides players with a comprehensive package, offering both the base game and the added content in a single polished release.

The Outer Worlds introduces players to a sprawling and morally complex sci-fi universe with a dark humor tone. Set in a future where corporations wield immense power, the game features a richly detailed world, a branching narrative with impactful player decisions, and a diverse cast of characters. The game delivers a standalone experience that immerses players in a thought-provoking adventure through a dystopian future, where their choices have lasting consequences.

The game's combat mechanics are skill-based and dynamic, allowing players to engage in real-time skirmishes while leveraging a broad array of weapons, abilities, and tactics to overcome a variety of foes. The inclusion of tactical time dilation enables players to slow down time, providing a strategic edge in fast-paced battles and offering unique opportunities for precise targeting and offensive maneuvers. Furthermore, the game's emphasis on player choice and consequence ensures that decisions made throughout the game have far-reaching implications, influencing the game world and the characters within it. You can even take two companions with you on your adventures, much like the Mass Effect games.

With its richly detailed world-building, morally complex storytelling, and strategic combat mechanics, The Outer Worlds has captivated players with its immersive and thought-provoking gameplay experience. The game's narrative depth, coupled with its focus on player agency and exploration, offers an engaging and deeply rewarding journey through a dystopian future, where the player's choices carry weight and meaning, shaping the course of their adventure through the vast reaches of space.

Playing this game is the first time that I have felt Nostalgia for games like Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas. Even games like Skyrim and Oblivion come to mind. It's been a long time since I've enjoyed those types of games. I've avoided all of the Skyrim re-releases and I couldn't get into Fallout 4 or Fallout 76. The Outer Worlds has awakened my love for these types of RPGs. This is largely due to the comedic nature of the story, yet it is also very relevant to the way the world is run today. Then there is the fact that the different worlds are just so damn beautiful and cool to explore.

I hope you can enjoy my gameplay video below. I will certainly be playing a lot more of this game.

Thanks for watching and be sure to drop any comments you may have down below, I will get back to everyone.




coverimageoct2023.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Subscribe to my YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Instagram 📸
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

daltonoDR-footer.jpg

Follow my curation trail

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: daltonohive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now