This content was muted by Hive Gaming moderators for not following community guidelines.

I got Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War for 35% off on PS5

0DC990A1C93A4821B0194979A1606993.jpeg

Call of Duty may never die

This was one of my first games since purchasing Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War recently. I didn’t get the game until December 18, 2020. I was able to buy the PS5 version for only $48 yesterday, just over a month after the game released. I consider that a pretty good bargain for such a popular game that literally just came out. Combining the DualSense with 120fps makes for the most engaging Call of Duty game I have ever played. That’s coming from someone who has played every single Call of Duty since COD2 on Xbox 360.


In my latest video you can view one of my best games since diving into Cold War. After the video I have much more to talk about when it comes to playing this game on my new PS5.


My Video

Armada is one of the maps that was available during the beta. It is now available in the full release with two versions:

  • Large version for 12 vs 12 open zip lines to multiple ships, water/swimming, and gun-boats.
  • Smaller version for 6 vs 6 called Armada Strike, which is on one large ship and you will die if you jump in the water.

I was playing on Armada Strike and started the game off with a 10 kill streak. Ended up getting the combat bow from a care package towards the end. This was recorded in 1080p/60fps, so it’s not quite as high quality as what I was actually playing, still looks great though.

Armada is based on Operation Azorian, U.S. and Soviet forces arrive in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean in search of a prototype nuclear submarine. The scale of the Cold War could be tipped in favor of whoever salvages it, whether it be the Soviets reclaiming it or the U.S. intercepting it.


Free multiplayer until Christmas

This is what sparked my purchase, you’d think I would be too busy with Cyberpunk 2077 to buy a new game (which I kind of am). There is no denying I have a love for Call of Duty though, so all it took was a little nudge. Free multiplayer weekend was my chance to try the latest COD out on my PS5.

My brother is in town and was telling me about how he played Cold War at 120fps on one of our buddy’s LG CX and Xbox Series X. He had me getting excited talking about how smooth and advantageous the high frame rate was. Got me curious, that and the added bonus that with PS5’s DualSense I would have an even more immersive experience than Xbox players.

Well of course I got all hyped for no reason. When I finally managed to figure out how to download the free trial multiplayer version (here is how, it’s super confusing on PlayStation), I was tremendously let down by the fact that only the PS4 version was available. That meant no advanced haptic feedback or adaptive triggers. Also no 120fps. Total bummer!

C38A2EC481644B1086AF91F0A47C77D4.jpeg

Until...


I saved over $25

During the free multiplayer weekend, Cold War is on sale for 21% off. Normally you would have to pay $69.99 plus tax (around $75) to get the PS5 version. Activision currently has it on sale for just $55 to coax trial players into buying the full game. Great marketing tactic, it sure worked on me. Especially because I also had a discount code to save even more.

Recently I had made the wise decision to join Sony Rewards. This allows me to earn points on my PlayStation purchases. Since joining, I already had enough points to redeem a $10 PS Gift Card.

The sale and reward point redemption combined allowed me to get ths PS5 version for a ridiculously good price. Sure it’s still nearly $50, but that’s about as cheap as you can get for a brand new Call of Duty title. I’m very glad I decided to wait until a bit after launch to pick this one up.

167CA02BB34D4EB781F3E2BFD2C3650D.jpeg


4K/120fps

Finally, I had a game that could maximize the power of my next-gen console and new TV. My PS5 and Sony X900 have been begging to be pushed to higher levels. Since I only play on console, this was my very first experience gaming with a 120ghz refresh date. My goodness is it smooth, can’t believe it ain’t butter.

I feel like I’m so much better at this Call of Duty than I have been at the last few CODs that have came out. My reaction time and aim are both just far greater now. Perhaps it’s because I’ve been gaming a lot here lately, but I also must admit that having the high frame rate and the insane haptic feedback/adaptive triggers are a big advantage. My response time is unreal now, or perhaps it’s just that my true capabilities are no longer being held back by low-end tech. Also helps that I have a great internet connection (several hundred mb/s) and am hard-wired in through Ethernet, so I no longer lag like I used to when I lived in the woods.

CA954B86B94B44EDAB01D89597F52F02.jpeg


The DualSense is a must have for COD

The first time I pulled the adaptive triggers in Cold War, I was met with resistance. L2 enabled me to aim down the sights of my assault rifle. Both L2 and R2 each had a different feel to them which adjust accordingly with various weapons, which is rather innovative. When it came to shooting, I was forced to pull much harder than normal and R2 was kicking back after each round was fired. On top of that my DualSense was going crazy with super precise haptic feedback. Not only were the haptics tuned into the gun, but also choppers flying above, footsteps, and much more. Many different sensations all occurr simultaneously. Somehow you can tell the difference between all of the vibrations, it doesn’t get confusing. The DualSense is rocking some futuristic tech and I love it! Makes playing Call of Duty feel brand new for once. I can only imagine how other games will choose to implement these unique features.

C6427F27EE8B464794DBF7B396D2BF1D.jpeg

F65CDD47CD434AA481224EC67CF92DB3.jpeg


Using the Krig 6 assault rifle

During my gameplay video above, I was using the Krig 6 assault rifle with the following attachments:

  • Millstop Reflex
  • Tactical Stock
  • 16.5” Ultralight Barrel
  • Steady Aim Laser
  • Foregrip

The Krig 6 is the 4th assault rifle and is unlocked at level 16. It features a combo of moderate fire rate and damage, so it can be effective at close-range. Thanks to its control and weak recoil, it can also be lethal even at the long of distances.

2F70D5439D3E41C59831C125FFBC6366.jpeg

The Krig 6 is based on the Swedish Ak 5 “Automatkarbin” which was designed in 1982. It is still widely used by several military forces today.

0581C92E4EBA4312A7F3CB848ABD121D.jpeg


Thanks for watching my video and reading my blog!

It’s going to be interesting to see how I juggle my time between Cyberpunk 2077 and Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War. I love both games so much. At least I can be certain that my first person shooter skills will be well tuned.

8EA9AA56611F44F8B77A17811866652F.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center