This content was muted by Hive Gaming moderators for not following community guidelines.

God of War Ragnarök's FREE DLC "Valhalla" first impressions and gameplay

thumbnail.jpg

Daltono Seperator.png

God of War goes Roguelite 🤔

There were rumors for the last several months that God of War Ragnarök would be getting some DLC. The game was originally released on Nov 9, 2022. A little over a year since it first came out, the rumored DLC is finally here.

God of War Ragnarök Valhalla was announced at The Game Awards 2023 a few weeks back and it was officially released on Dec 12, 2023. This is a roguelite mode separate from the main story but functions as an Epilogue for Kratos. That means you can forget about Atreus for Valhalla.

The main kicker here is that the DLC is being given away for free to all owners Ragnarök. Santa Monica Studios has proven once more why they are one of the best development companies in the gaming business. They could have easily charged something like $20 for this, but since the last two games were both such a huge success, they have the means to send us a massive freebie.

It had been over a year since I last played God of War Ragnarök, but I knew I had to redownload it so I could see what Valhalla was all about. I'm very glad that I took the time to do so because I had almost forgotten just how amazing God of War games are.

If you're not familiar with the roguelite formula, I'll briefly explain how Valhalla works. You start at the door to Valhalla each run, but before entering you can do things like adjust your appearance, purchase permanent stat upgrades, or have conversations with the Valkrie NPCs. Once entereing Valhalla, any time you die you will be brought back to the entrance and must restart. During each run, you will gain upgrades and basically be guranteed a different build every single time that you enter.

The purpose of Valhalla is to "Master Thyself". You will be forced to become efficient with each weapon type, the axe, spear, and chains. You will also have to get comfortable with a variety of runic attacks. Balance is key in Valhalla.

You can expect to see some new enemies and even some from the Greek God of War games that make a reappearance. There are some insane boss battles too. All accompanied by an actual story, this isn't just a new game mode to grind. You are given 5 difficulty options, so anybody can find a way to have fun with this or challenge their skills. Best of all, you can play this mode before or after completing the main game, although it's best to take the time to experience the story fully before jumping into Valhalla.

I think gamers are extremely lucky to get an awesome DLC like this for free. Now it is time that I show you what this is all about. Remember, I hadn't played God of War Ragnarök in over a year, so my skills were lacking a bit. I will have another video in the future once I remember how to take Kratos to his limits. Let's begin.

Thanks for watching and be sure to drop any comments you may have down below, I will get back to everyone.




coverimageoct2023.jpg

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Subscribe to my YouTube Channel 🎥Create a free Hive account 🗽Follow me on Instagram 📸
click hereclick hereclick hereclick here

daltonoDR-footer.jpg

Follow my curation trail

Daltono Seperator copy.png

Discord: daltonohive

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments