dCrops - The ramblings of a newbie

First of all, I am a complete noob. Not only to dCrops but I'm not really a deeply experienced gamer.

I am sure it is not just me but when I come across something new, I usually jump straight in, get stuck and then realise "damn - just RTFM!".

That is what happened to me when I started playing dCrop and had a few "aha!" moments as I realised why things weren't working the way I expected. But it's not rocket science, you just need to do some research.

The game basics

dCrops is a web-based game that you can access from here:

https://dcrops.com/

dCrops is a NFT blockchain based #PlayToEarn game that has a number of NFT cards that allow you to grow different crops and then produce higher valued items through various other processes and card combinations. At a basic level, you need to a plot of land and some seeds. Once you plant them you need to wait a period to harvest them and get your rewards. Rinse and repeat.

What you do need to be aware of (@awah just RTFM) is that the game works by rotating through different seasons and you need to have the right seeds that will grow in that season. The seasons last for 15 days so you need to have the right seeds and ensure that you have time to harvest them within that season.

This is an example of my card for Basil that can (see symbol in top left) be planted in the summer. It takes 2 days to be ready to be harvested (the clock symbol in the bottom right).

I also have some fertile land. See my card below. This allows me two plots so I can plan two types of seed here and it has a 5% chance of bonus crop.

Once you have harvested the crops it the then have a 2 week cooldown before they can be planted again. This effectively means you need to wait a game-year.

The Game Plus Points

The graphics are pretty cool (they look fairly slick) and the layout of the game is quite easy to understand. The rules are not difficult either (@awah if you RTFM).

The overall concept is pretty nice and I do get that "playable" feeling from it. It has that classic combine and craft mechanism to help you generate the more valuable items over time.

It's kind of addictive - It would be nice to be able to have bigger plots, more land and more seeds. The game appears to give you the chance to grow (no pun attended) your portfolio.

The Game Negatives

I suppose the only thing to be mindful of is that the cost of entry can be relatively high. You need to buy land and seeds. To get growing you are going to need several seeds to that you can play in the different seasons.

Overall Verdict

I am going to keep on playing and do recommend the game. If you haven't got money to spend to get started you probably want to start cautiously and it may take time to get going but if you are like me - a bit of trial and error - I am ready to go and buy some more cards.

Get growing guys!!!


Note: all graphics taken from game play and compiled by me

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency