Why I play the Combat Medic

startingline21.jpg

Patching up a friendly in Hell Let Loose, reviving a team mate in Planetside 2

Being the younger brother, I was always designated 'Player 2' in co-op games. I was instructed that my job was to support my older Brother, 'Player 1'. It was my only chance to be on the same team with my Brother so I always tried my best to support him.

I'll never forget the feeling of excitement as we both ventured further in the game than we ever had in previous solo playthroughs or the heart pumping thrill of saving 'Player 1' from a critical blow so he could finish the boss. Those moments were the best and even today I find myself often playing the 'Medic' role in video games.

Giving players a 'second chance', keeping my teams mates health topped off and increasing the chances of team members surviving encounters with the enemy, tilting the odds back in our favor leading to a victory, It's all exhilarating!

In recent games though there has been more 'Combat' added to the 'Medic' role to allow more versatility for the player, I've had to adapt to being a more proactive member of the battle! Some examples are:

Charging with the main group:

charge.gif

Rushing the point!

Preventing enemy advancements:

gearhll.gif

Throwing a smoke grenade to hinder enemy tank sights

ps2cool.gif

I was ambitious here

and of course keep my team alive!:

revivehll.gif

Running down a trench being hit with tank shells to revive a fallen team member

healingreviveps2.gif

Prioritize healing wounded team mates over reviving fallen ones

Sometimes it feels like I am not helping with the battle enough, being a less effective combatant role, but the other players appreciate it when they are brought back from the respawn screen or are fully healed and are given another chance to frag some more opponents.

It is a great feeling when after a match the players show their appreciation in the chat bar for the 'Medics' that kept everybody alive while they decimated the enemy troop. I guess it's a bit selfish to mention that but it really shows that the players notice when there are medics taking care of the team!

So if you see me in a game with 'roles' or 'classes', I'll most likely be championing the 'Medic' role. Saving people and trying my best to be an effective member of the team!

please leave a comment if you have a preferred role or have witnessed a player fulfilling the definition of a 'role' that stuck with you, I would enjoy reading about it.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed my post.

Happy Gaming!

Title image made in Paint by me

Games shown: Hell Let Loose, WW2 FPS Military Simulator and Planetside 2, Sci-fi MMO FPS

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center