Grinding it out VS Having a Goal

image3.jpg

Turning the crank at the Grind Machine or Hitting bullseyes on the goal boards. Made in paint by me!

When I reach max level I feel somewhat satisfied. Finally, I can actually play the game! Wait, What do you mean I now have to complete dailies for materials, weeklies for gear, and other activities on a constant grind to reach the 'True' max level. Grinding seems like it is an inevitability, developers try to mitigate grinding but it seems like there is no real escape from it. It sucks the fun out of a game for me if every new height reached just leads to another ledge to grind towards. Seasons are being introduced into more and more games to reward players for completing certain objectives to increase their level and earn unique rewards that are available for only that season but even that boils down to grinding to fill a bar.

20230507112611_1.jpg

20230507114826_1.jpg

Look at all these damn tasks to complete!

I eventually will stop playing a game because every time I think about starting up I'll remember I have to complete the unfinished bar to advance further and just that thought will have me Alt+F4'ing a game. What is a viable solution?

My personal solution was to have a goal. "But isn't fulfilling the bar a goal?" Yes, but just focusing it on that kills my enthusiasm for the game. I need a goal that will allows me to feel like I am still on a 'Mighty Quest' and not just collecting bear asses to fill a quota for the day. In Fallout 76 there is an equippable camera that allows me to capture photos during regular gameplay as opposed to accessing the photo mode and framing a shot.

20230507114732_1.jpg

Photo_2023-02-02-133211.png

NPC fighting a Scorch beast

Photo_2023-05-04-180642.png

Radiated Bears (Yao Guais) Attacking my house

The camera is upgradable with different zoom lenses and even night vision for night shots!

cameraupgrades.jpg

Source

And in New World I have a fondness for the fishing in the game. My goal for that is to explore the game world and find all the hidden fishing spots,

fishingspots.jpg

fishingspots2.jpg

Fishing spots in New World

Fishing up legendary fish,

newworldfishinglegend.jpg

and successfully roaming the land with PvP mode enabled because of a buff it gives.

goal1.jpg

Source

The way it looks, I can achieve whatever the daily activities are While I am adventuring and completing my 'goals'. It's an aspect of the game I enjoy and can work towards, It doesn't kill my enthusiasm to play the game, and it allows me to explore the game beyond areas where the daily objectives are. Win-win!

If there is advice I would give the player who is tired of the 'Daily Grind' it would be to create an enjoyable goal to work towards While being able to check off the dailies on the side. Grinding to play or Playing to grind? Why not just play to just play?

Have you ever stopped playing due to a grind? What got you motivated to play again? Let me know in the comments!

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed!

Happy Gaming!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center