✨ Emberward - Beating the first Boss! ✨


Emberward



Thumbnail

Hello there, we have here my second Emberward post, as I've stated in my first one, I am not going to make another post until I manage to beat the first level's boss. So here it is, about 4-5 hours of gaming later I managed to beat the first boss.

During these 4-5 hours of trying to beat the first Boss I managed to get to the last level to fight him a couple of times, but I didn't have the right strategy and probably not the right towers.

Without further ado the gameplay:

Now let me explain how I did it, I started with 3 towers out of which 2 were great (or that's what I think of them) because one shoots poison and the enemy gets some damage over time and the other one is a flamethrower with high fire rate.


image.png

And the third tower is just a small machine gun that's extremely cheap and gets destroyed after shooting like 20 bullets.
Another thing that really helped me is the top left corner relic, that changes the price of the tower between 50% and 150% each wave and sometimes I got the good stuff at a super cheap price.

One of the best things that I learned is that you have to expand the maze as much as possible even if you are not going to use it to place towers everywhere, make the maze in such way that the waves will go to the front of the towers and back of them as well if possible. Also while using poison towers with damage over time the longer the maze to the Fire(heart) the more damage the monsters take and have lower chances of you losing health.


image.png

Also the powerup blocks are amazing and make such a big difference, the ones that give extra damage and the ones with extra gold were the best and saved me a couple of times.

By the time I got to the Boss level, these were the towers I've managed to get.


image.png

  • 3 towers that take 1x1 space
  • 1 tower that take 1x3 space
  • 3 towers that take 2x2 space
  • 1 tower that takes 3x3 space



    image.png
    First BOSS



Now for the Boss fight, the mechanic that made a difference is the carts they added on both sides of the map, these carts can carry a 1x1 tower around the track increasing the range of the towers they carry. In my case I added the poison towers and made them prioritize the Highest HP Enemy, in this case the Boss. Each wave these towers were hitting the boss when in range hitting him directly and when out of range he was getting poison damage. By the time the Boss got close to my main towers he was already below 50% Health. At that point I knew I was going to win the fight.



The gameplay is almost 50minutes long, I've played the game on the maximum speed option (I think it's 3x), I can say this was the most fun I've had in a Tower Defense Game in a while (the only time I've had this much fun, or even more was on the old Warcraft 3 Custom Tower Defense maps, if you are old enough you might remember those, they were popular among streamers).



I will continue to play the next level when I have time and come with the battle of the second Boss (if I am able to get there).

Thank you for stopping by my post, if you want to see more content from me please drop a follow. Until next time I am wishing you a great day!




P.S: If you are going to play this game and upload the gameplay to Youtube there is a thing that you need to know. The creators of the in-game music will Copyright the music in your gameplay video.


image.png

This isn't really that big of a deal because it's just a Copyright claim and not a strike but I am not sure if this can change in the future. I think the claim is used just to grab your revenue out of the video and nothing else. So this is just a HEADS UP!


Note: All the images and GIFs are generated from my gameplay.

Stats for nerds
Recording Software: nVidia Shadowplay
Recording Resolution: 1440p 60fps
CPU: Ryzen 5 5600
GPU: RTX 4060
MOBO: MSI PRO B550M-P GEN3
RAM: 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now