My funtastic experience with the Nintendo 3DS (and a reflection on the memories I had with it) [ENG/ESP]

IMG_20220618_092000.jpg


RIGHTFIX - JSRF.png


Ahh, the Nintendo 3DS, I remember vividly downloading pictures of Mario Kart 7 on my PSP through the internet browser back before the console and game were even out (and at that time it was just known as Mario Kart 3DS), being totally hyped with the day it was out because of the many beautiful memories I had with my Nintendo DS Lite to the point that I actually had got my dad to preorder an Aqua Blue 3DS back then (and it came with Nintendogs + Cats!) and enjoying it for a few years...until I poured a lot of water on it (that's a long story) and had to send it for repairs. After a long while with the guy that was supposed to be fixing it never really got back to us with it (apparently having some of his pieces stolen one day), I eventually got a red one that came bundled with Super Mario 3D Land for Christmas not too long after that. And that's the one I kept playing with until last year or so.

IMG_20220618_094516.jpg

There were many games I had for it; some were given to me as gifts, others were games that I asked to get, and then there were a few of them that I actually saved up for and bought on my own. Metal Gear Solid 3D, Mario & Sonic ath the London Olympic Games, Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition, Mario Kart 7, Zelda A Link Between Worlds, Mario Tennis Open, Pilotwings Resort, Tekken 3D Prime Edition...I didn't own many games for myself, but at least the ones I had were a lot of fun and I could get much more of my 3DS as I could ask for some borrowed 3DS games from my two brothers (Star Fox 64 3D, Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D, Resident Evil Revelations, Kid Icarus Uprising), along with anything from my bigger Nintendo DS catalog thanks to the console's retrocompatibility.

image.png

Now, you might be asking yourself about why the 3DS has a bite mark on the top...well that happened one day when I had left my 3DS on my shelf many years ago when I still had two Golden Retrievers (man, that was such a long time ago but I will never forget them...) and left with my family to have dinner somewhere. When we were back, one of the dogs for whatever reason had picked the 3DS up from the shelf with their mouth...and yeah, that's why it has that bite mark. While it thankfully didn't send my 3DS straight into a repair place (which could have ended up terribly wrong, as you saw with my Aqua Blue 3DS story), I remember that my 3DS ended up having quite some issues with the camera as sometimes it worked and sometimes it did, and that also ended up affecting the console's capability of running DS games as well for some reason, being unable to open them in certain days.

image.png

The console spent a good while unmodified as the hacks around the time I owned this console were rudimentary, very risky or required a specific game (no, I wasn't going to buy Cubic Ninja just to hack my console), until a hack that didn't require a game came out...but I needed to downgrade my 3DS for it to work. I ended up resetting the console just to do that because apparently it could brick if I had a DSiWare game installed during the process, and I happened to have installed Zelda Four Swords Adventures from the one-time event that the game was being given away for free...and was the only way to obtain for that matter. However, that eventually ended up being a great thing for my console's lifespan, being able to stuff it with emulators and such, as by the year that was possible I couldn't afford buying brand new 3DS games anymore.

IMG_20220618_091007.jpg

However, one or two years ago, my 3DS's battery finally gave up and the console cannot be used if the battery is dead (even if I had it plugged to the charger, which is what I did for the last moments it was having since it charged very little before it died), which is why I haven't been able to use the console anymore (and the photo above with 3D Land was taken with my brother's 3DS instead)...but I haven't bought a battery for it right now either because of a little fact that I can't avoid anymore: It has been several years since I got that 3DS, and now I'm 20 years old and having to juggle with responsabilities related to university and sorting out other IRL things, as well as something that has been hitting me recently.

Would I really be using it as much as I would like to at this point?

It is not about if the 3DS is not a good console anymore or that there aren't any other great games to try on it...but more about how I don't think I would be able to dedicate some worthwile time on it not just from having to focus on more important things, but also because of my current state with being less and less eager about playing videogames as often as I was back then, more specifically with the idea of having to invest on getting a new battery for it only to then not play with it. My current strange relationship with video games is clearly a factor accounting into my doubt, but the main reason would definitely have to be the time I would have to invest in making the new life I gave to the console worth the price, which I don't think I have anymore between my somewhat short actual attention span and how the most practical application for portable consoles being if there's a power shortage here and if I would want to take it outside to play on a trip or something...which I wouldn't do nowadays because of the risk of getting it robbed.

IMG_20220618_091431.jpg

But that said, the amount of fun that my Nintendo 3DS gave me for many years through its own games (and support for DS games), the camera, the sound program for messing around with my voice, and even the integrated Face Raiders and AR Games, is something that I will never be able to forget, and I will always see the 3DS as an amazing portable powerhouse that could (and definitely can a lot more now thanks to homebrew, being a perfect machine for some emulators, 3DS, DS and even GBA games). If I will decide to get a new battery for it and give it another go as long as it lasts, or if I end up selling it to a friend or something instead, is something that I can't answer right now, but I can say that owning one was definitely worth it.


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


Spanish translation with DeepL. All screenshots were captured by myself.


Español


Ahh, la Nintendo 3DS, recuerdo haber descargado imágenes de Mario Kart 7 en mi PSP a través del navegador de Internet antes de que la consola y el juego salieran a la venta (y en ese momento sólo se conocía como Mario Kart 3DS), estar totalmente emocionado con el día en que saliera a la venta debido a los muchos y hermosos recuerdos que tenía con mi Nintendo DS Lite hasta el punto de haber conseguido que mi padre preordenara una 3DS Aqua Blue en aquel entonces (¡y venía con Nintendogs + Cats! ) y la disfruté durante unos años... hasta que le eché mucha agua (es una larga historia) y tuve que mandarla a reparar. Después de un largo tiempo en el que el tipo que se suponía que la iba a arreglar nunca volvió a ponerse en contacto con nosotros (al parecer, un día le robaron algunas de sus piezas), finalmente conseguí una roja que venía incluida en el paquete de Super Mario 3D Land para Navidad, no mucho después. Y con esa seguí jugando hasta el año pasado más o menos.

IMG_20220618_094516.jpg

Fueron muchos los juegos que tuve para ella; algunos me los regalaron, otros fueron juegos que pedí que me regalaran, y luego hubo unos cuantos para los que realmente ahorré y compré por mi cuenta. Metal Gear Solid 3D, Mario & Sonic en los Juegos Olímpicos de Londres, Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition, Mario Kart 7, Zelda A Link Between Worlds, Mario Tennis Open, Pilotwings Resort, Tekken 3D Prime Edition... No tenía muchos juegos para mí, pero al menos los que tenía eran muy divertidos y podía sacarle mucho más partido a mi 3DS, ya que podía pedirles a mis dos hermanos algunos juegos prestados de 3DS (Star Fox 64 3D, Zelda Ocarina of Time 3D, Resident Evil Revelations, Kid Icarus Uprising), junto con cualquier cosa de mi mayor catálogo de Nintendo DS gracias a la retrocompatibilidad de la consola.

image.png

Ahora, os estaréis preguntando por qué la 3DS tiene una marca de un mordisco en la parte superior... bueno, eso ocurrió un día que dejé mi 3DS en mi estantería hace muchos años, cuando todavía tenía dos Golden Retrievers (hombre, de eso hace tanto tiempo pero nunca los olvidaré...) y me fui con mi familia a cenar a algún sitio. Cuando volvimos, uno de los perros, por la razón que sea, había cogido la 3DS de la estantería con la boca... y sí, por eso tiene esa marca de mordisco. Aunque por suerte no envió mi 3DS directamente a un lugar de reparación (lo que podría haber acabado terriblemente mal, como visteis con mi historia de la 3DS Aqua Blue), recuerdo que mi 3DS acabó teniendo bastantes problemas con la cámara, ya que a veces funcionaba y otras veces no, y eso también acabó afectando a la capacidad de la consola para ejecutar juegos de DS también por alguna razón, siendo incapaz de abrirlos en ciertos días.

image.png

La consola pasó un buen tiempo sin ser modificada, ya que los hacks en la época en que tuve esta consola eran rudimentarios, muy arriesgados o requerían un juego específico (no, no iba a comprar Cubic Ninja sólo para hackear mi consola), hasta que salió un hack que no requería un juego... pero necesitaba rebajar mi 3DS para que funcionara. Acabé reiniciando la consola para hacerlo porque, al parecer, podía bloquearse si tenía un juego de DSiWare instalado durante el proceso, y resulta que tenía instalado Zelda Four Swords Adventures desde el evento único en el que el juego se regalaba... y era la única forma de obtenerlo. Sin embargo, eso terminó siendo algo muy bueno para la vida útil de mi consola, al poder atiborrarla de emuladores y demás, ya que para el año en que eso fue posible ya no podía permitirme comprar juegos nuevos para la 3DS.

IMG_20220618_091007.jpg

Sin embargo, hace uno o dos años, la batería de mi 3DS finalmente se rindió y la consola no se puede usar si la batería está muerta (aunque la tenga enchufada al cargador, que es lo que hice durante los últimos momentos que tuvo ya que cargaba muy poco antes de morir), por lo que no he podido usar más la consola (y la foto de arriba con 3D Land fue tomada con la 3DS de mi hermano en su lugar)... pero tampoco he comprado una batería para ella ahora mismo por un pequeño hecho que ya no puedo evitar: Han pasado varios años desde que me compré esa 3DS, y ahora tengo 20 años y tengo que hacer malabares con las responsabilidades relacionadas con la universidad y resolver otras cosas IRL, además de algo que me ha golpeado recientemente.

¿Realmente la usaría tanto como me gustaría en este momento?

No se trata de que la 3DS ya no sea una buena consola o de que no haya otros grandes juegos que probar en ella... sino más bien de que no creo que sea capaz de dedicarle un tiempo que merezca la pena, no sólo por tener que centrarme en cosas más importantes, sino también por mi estado actual, en el que cada vez tengo menos ganas de jugar a los videojuegos como entonces, y más concretamente por la idea de tener que invertir en conseguir una nueva batería para luego no jugar con ella. Mi extraña relación actual con los videojuegos es claramente un factor que influye en mi duda, pero la razón principal tendría que ser definitivamente el tiempo que tendría que invertir en hacer que la nueva vida que le diera a la consola valiera la pena el precio, que no creo que tenga ya entre mi capacidad de atención real algo corta y cómo la aplicación más práctica para las consolas portátiles es si hay una escasez de energía aquí y si quisiera llevarla fuera para jugar en un viaje o algo así... lo que no haría hoy en día por el riesgo de que me la roben.

IMG_20220618_091431.jpg

Pero dicho esto, la cantidad de diversión que me dio mi Nintendo 3DS durante muchos años a través de sus propios juegos (y la compatibilidad con los de DS), la cámara, el programa de sonido para trastear con mi voz, e incluso los Face Raiders y AR Games integrados, es algo que nunca podré olvidar, y siempre veré la 3DS como una increíble potencia portátil que podía (y definitivamente puede mucho más ahora gracias al homebrew, siendo una máquina perfecta para algunos emuladores, juegos de 3DS, DS e incluso GBA). Si me decidiré a conseguir una nueva batería para ella y darle otra oportunidad mientras dure, o si en cambio terminaré vendiéndola a un amigo o algo así, es algo que no puedo responder ahora mismo, pero puedo decir que tener una definitivamente valió la pena.


LEFTFIX - TEMJIN.png


Traducción al español hecha con DeepL. Todas las fotos capturadas por mí.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now