Vibes Web3 Music Competition Week 22 || Lean on Me [Cover by Ten]

Howdy Vibes fam!🀍
Last week was so wonderful, I was telling @verbal-d after the winners' announcement that I'd almost given up on submitting anything but I'm super glad I did. Just goes to show that you'll never really know which day things are going to "click".🌺


This week's theme was really exciting.

I love themed weeks because they force me to search for songs I haven't heard before or normally wouldn't have listened to, it also allows me reconnect with a lot of music I used to enjoy but haven't heard in a long time.☘
I went through quite a number of 70s playlists searching for something I'd connect with and enjoy performing.
I found quite a lot but this morning when I woke up, I couldn't get a particular one out of my head and knew it was the one!🌻


Lean on me by Bill Withers. It was released in 1972 and it's definitely an evergreen song.
I usually struggle with singing low notes but I did enjoy covering this.
It is a song that promotes codependence.
Nobody can do life alone, we all do need somebody to lean on.πŸ’ž

I think I love this song especially because it was sung in a movie that's close to my heart. The movie "Lean on me", which starrs Morgan Freeman, shares a title with the song and I can't count how many times I've seen it.😩
I'm currently putting it on to watch again for nostalgia's sake.😌


A big thank you to the judges, community and organizers of this competition. You are doing amazing work!
Promotional Video
YouTube
I really hope you enjoy my cover of this song.🀍
Till next week..CiaoπŸ¦‹


Lyrics

Sometimes in our lives
We all have pain
We all have sorrow
But if we are wise
We know that there's always tomorrow
Lean on me
When you're not strong
And I'll be your friend
I'll help you carry on...
For it won't be long
Till I'm gonna need somebody to lean on
Please swallow your pride
If I have things you need to borrow
For no one can fill
Those of your needs that you won't let show
You just call on me brother when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have a problem that you'll understand
We all need somebody to lean on
Lean on me
When you're not strong
And I'll be your friend
I'll help you carry on...
For it won't be long
Till I'm gonna need somebody to lean on
You just call on me brother
When you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on
I just might have a problem that you'll understand
We all need somebody to lean on
If there is a load you have to bear
That you can't carry
I'm right up the road
I'll share your load
If you just call me
Call me...


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center