What would you do (Cover) | Vibes Week 12

Arson's Name Semi Colored.png

Since this week I was visiting with my family, I thought it would be appropriate to have my mom join me on my submission! She's been one of my major inspirations for my musical journey and recently she and I have started working on some collaborations. We managed to learn and record this one in about 20 minutes!

This song from City High is about the struggle of a mother to raise a child in less than ideal circumstances and a perfect depiction of "Pain" for this week's theme.

Lyrics:

Verse 1
Boys and girls
wanna hear a true story?
Saturday night
was at this real wild party
They had the liquor
overflowin' the cup,
about five or six strippers
tryin to work for a buck
And I took one girl outside wit me, her name Was Loni,
she went to Junior High with me
I said, why you up in there
dancin' for cash?
I guess a whole lots changed
since I seen you last
She said

Chorus
What would you do
if your son was at home
Crying all alone on the bedroom floor, 'cause he's hungry
And the only way to feed him
is ta sleep with a man
For a little bit of money,
and his daddy's gone
Somewhere smokin' rock now,
in and out of lock down
I ain't gotta job now,
so for you this is just a good time
But for me this is what I call life

Verse 2
Girl you ain't the only one with a baby
That's no excuse
to be livin' all crazy
Then she looked me
right square in the eye
And said
everyday I wake up hopin' to die
She said brotha
I know about pain 'cause
Me and my sister ran away,
so my daddy
Couldn't rape us,
before I was a teenager
I done been through more shit,
you can't even
Relate to

(Chorus)

https://x.com/ColoradoFonDew/status/1797729973840818236

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center