Laura Branigan - Self Control Vocal Cover by @carminasalazarte - Vibes Web3 Week #19


Self Control - Laura Brinigan_20240826_212730_0000.png

Hello to everyone in the Vibes community! Today I'm joining the community to enter the Vibes Web3 Music Competition for week #19. With this being my entry to participate in it. For this opportunity I decided to bring a classic from the 80's with the song by American pop singer, Laura Branigan, which is titled "Self Control". Laura would have brought other singles in the past such as "Gloria" (from 1982), which catapulted her to fame and then there would be "Self Control" (from 1983), thus consecrating her career. Today, 20 years after her physical departure, I pay tribute to her with my interpretation of this song.

For many who follow me since I started Hive, you will know that one of the musical genres I like the most is synth pop (dance pop, euro disco and others, besides rock/metal), so it became a habit for me to bring some of my favourite songs of that genre and that are mostly belonging to the 80's and 90's. As this week is free choice (i.e. there is no specific concept to follow), I wanted to bring something more personal. So that you can also get to know a bit more about me and my work. As always, everything presented here is with a lot of love and effort, even though I know I still have a long way to go and a lot to learn as a singer. Without further ado, I leave you with the video, I hope you like it. Thank you very much for stopping by.

¡Hola a todos en la comunidad de Vibes! El día de hoy me uno a la comunidad con motivo de entrar al concurso de la semana #19, Vibes Web3 Music Competition. Con esta que es mi entrada para participar en ella. Para esta oportunidad decidí traer un clásico de los 80's con la canción de la cantante estadounidense de pop, Laura Branigan, la cuál se titula "Self Control". Laura habría traído otros sencillos en el pasado tales cómo "Gloria" (de 1982), quién la catapultó a la fama y seguidamente estaría "Self Control"(de 1983), consagrando así su carrera. Hoy a 20 años de su partida física le rindo homenaje con esta mi interpretación de esta canción.

Para muchos que me siguen desde mi comienzo en Hive, sabrán que uno de los géneros musicales que más me gustan son el synth pop (dance pop, euro disco y otros, además del rock/metal), por lo cual se hizo costumbre para mí traer algunas de mis canciones favoritas de ese género y que son mayoritariamente pertenecientes a los años 80's y 90's. Cómo esta semana es de elección libre (es decir, no hay un concepto en específico a cumplir), quise traer algo mas personal. Con motivo de que también puedan conocer un poco más sobre mí y mí trabajo. Cómo siempre, todo lo presentado aquí es con mucho cariño y esfuerzo, aún cuando sé que me hace falta mucho por recorrer y aprender cómo cantante. Sin más que decir, los dejo con el vídeo, espero que les guste. Muchas gracias por pasar por aquí.

Lyrics/Letra

Oh, the night is my world
City light painted girl
In the day nothing matters
It's the night time that flatters
In the night, no control
Through the wall something's breaking
Wearing white as you're walkin'
Down the street of my soul

You take my self, you take my self control
You got me livin' only for the night
Before the morning comes, the story's told
You take my self, you take my self control

Another night, another day goes by
I never stop myself to wonder why
You help me to forget to play my role
You take my self, you take my self control

I, I live among the creatures of the night
I haven't got the will to try and fight
Against a new tomorrow, so I guess I'll just believe it
That tomorrow never comes

A safe night, I'm living in the forest of my dream
I know the night is not as it would seem
I must believe in something, so I'll make myself believe it
That this night will never go

Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh
Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh

Oh, the night is my world
City light painted girl
In the day nothing matters
It's the night time that flatters

I, I live among the creatures of the night
I haven't got the will to try and fight
Against a new tomorrow, so I guess I'll just believe it
That tomorrow never knows

A safe night, I'm living in the forest of a dream
I know the night is not as it would seem
I must believe in something, so I'll make myself believe it
That this night will never go

Oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh, oh-oh-oh
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control
You take my self, you take my self control...

Source

Credits/Créditos

Artist/Artista: Laura Branigan
Song/Canción: Self Control
Album/Álbum: Self Control
Year/Año: 1984

Music track used in the following source

https://x.com/Carmina_Salazar/status/1828400968087609499?t=O_4lT9RNQC_yGfRmYXIq9A&s=19

png_20221024_213734_0000.png


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments