Three Tune Tuesday and Nineties Friday Rolled Into One!

This past Friday I ended up missing my #NintiesFriday post due to personal reasons, and since I am going to be a bit short on time this week I'm going to make #ThreeTuneTuesday and #NinetiesFriday all into one post. What could possibly go wrong?

First off I would like to do a shoutout to @ablaze for starting and continuing to support Three Tune Tuesday, and also do the same to @geneeverett for starting Nineties Friday and continuing to support it. You will always find some interesting tunes from around the world on Tuesday and then on Friday it anything from the 1990's, your imagination is the limit!

Instead of a custom header this week I am going to share an image that everyone alive in the 1990's will recognize, but with a twist. The floppy disk is how you saved your data back in the nineties, so everybody had them. I probably had too many backing up my files and work... But the floppy disk I'm sharing today is a charlatan, but a very cool one. This floppy disk is actually a coin produced by the island nation on Niue! It's two ounces of solid silver colored to look like our old friend the floppy disk.


pictures from Apmex.com

About the coin:

From numista.com

I do not own one of these, although I am tempted just because it's so weird. However, the prices I found start at $250 US, so it may have to wait quite awhile before it's added to my stack (if ever.) But what better way to launch into a combo Nineties Friday and Three Tune Tuesday combo?

Today the songs will all be coming from the era of the 1990's. But to start off I thought I might thrown in a funny Seinfeld clip, the one where George pretends to be a marine biologist to impress a woman.

Now we'll jump straight into the music!

The Smashing Pumpkins


rollingstone.com

The Smashing Pumpkin formed in 1988 in Chicago, Illinois. In 1991 they released their album Gish, and they subsequently went on tour to open for Red Hot Chili Peppers, Guns N Roses, and Jane's Addiction. This was followed up by "Siamese Dream" in 1993 and by " Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness" in 1995. Off of the latter came the song "Bullet With Butterfly Wings":

Pearl Jam


salon.com

Pearl Jam originated in Seattle, Washington in 1990. By 1991 they had recorded and release their debut album "Ten". It took some time before it really took off, but by 1992 it peaked at number 2 on the Billboard 200 charts. They have gone onto become legendary rockers and still are producing music and even have their own channel of satellite radio SiriusXM. This song came off the the album "Ten", this is "Even Flow":

Red Hot Chili Peppers


loudwire.com

The Red Hot Chili Peppers formed in 1982 by a group of high school friends in Los Angeles, California. Lead singer Anthony Kiedis and bassist "Flea" are the only two who have been with the band since it's inception. Throughout the 1980's they began to find a following and in 1989 their album "Mother's Milk" launched them to fame. I recall seeing them in concert in the late 1980's when they were opening for Oingo Boingo, that was a long time ago! In 1991 they released the album "Blood Sugar Sex Magik" with the huge hit "Give It Away":

That will just about do it for my post today. I hope you enjoyed the Seinfeld video and the 90's music. My favorite pick of the day is still the silver disk, too bad it's so expensive! Have a great Tuesday everyone and thank you for all of your support!

And since I am posting in the #freecompliments community I just wanted to remind everyone to take some time today to be kind. A little kindness can make a huge difference in someone's life. Please check out the community and consider joining us!


And my disclaimer:

The video links I am sharing are not mine, I am only sharing the link to the copyright owner's video. No copyright infringement is intended. Used under fair-use section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976.

I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces398662.html
https://www.apmex.com/product/295715/2024-niue-2-oz-silver-techstalgic-floppy-disk-colorized
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Smashing_Pumpkins
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pearl_Jam
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Hot_Chili_Peppers

If you are interested in precious metals or even want to learn more about them feel free to come join us #silvergoldstackers

I'm a proud member of The Alliance Family!

This is a newer project trying to help new Hive members grow and stay with us here on our platform, feel free to ask if you are interested

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center