This content got low rating by people.

My favorite front-end

image.png

Hello everyone!

Today I will talk about my favorite front-end to engage with the Hive blockchain. Throughout my time on Hive I have utilized several different front-ends so can make kind of a comparison. Will start with how my favorite front-end changed and why I utilize the one I use now. So, first I'll take you back in time.

My beginning on Hive

As you probably already know by now, I discovered Hive through Splinterlands, already nearly three years ago. After several weeks I discovered that Splinterlands was run on the Hive blockchain, I was a total noob in terms of web3, and that there was some kind of social media platform on the Hive blockchain. At the start I used PeakD and thought it was the only blogging platform (front-end actually, but didn't know that yet on that moment). I thought it was quite intuitive (and still think it is!), so kept using it for about 2 years or so. In these 2 years, I had tried out other front-ends, but was never convinced. After these 2 years, I heard about ecency and their point system.

Ecency (points)

I won several Ecency points in a contest so wanted to find out what these points were and what could be done. Apparently they weren't tradeable tokens on the second layer but untransferable points which could be used to buy severl services, like getting a post reviewed for potential curation, get more visibility to a post, etc. As I thought it would be nice to earn a bit more, I started to utilize their front-end to build up some posts which I than used to get some posts reviewed for curation. After a couple of weeks that I had discovered this possibility, the option to spend points for curation reviews was dismissed as it was perceived as vote buying. I won't go into that topic as I could understand both sides of the discussion. Anyways, the main reason I utilized Ecency was removed so I switched back to Peakd as I still found it a more intuitive front-end.

Inleo

Nowadays I am nearly always utilizing the Inleo front-end. I had already tried it out in the past but there were quite some bugs so I never really adopted it as my main front-end. Every time I switched back to either Peakd or Ecency, whichever I was utilizing at that time. In May of this year, I heard about the goal from Inleo to become 99% bugfree. I gave it once again a try and stayed there. Their main aspect I enjoy much are the threads. These are short messages you can send (similar to Tweets from X) and on which people can ofcourse reply. As I experience way more engagement through these threads, I really enjoy their platform. Besides these threads, I have the impression they are holding several contests as well to gamify onboarding and engagement even further. So it's definitely a front-end I would advice to anyone to atleast try it out!

Conclusion

I have tried out different front-ends on Hive and although today I still think Peakd is the most intuitive one, I prefer Inleo mainly because of their thread feature.

Thanks for reading and by the way: What's your favorite front-end?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center