Can I Make You My Bot?

Image

The title might be surprising! But, I saw something on the internet a while ago and it caught my attention. All I could think of is this title to my post.

0.1 - The Story
While I was surfing the internet randomly, I came across a post in a forum. The post was short. It was discussing one question, which is "How to get the support of that particular user" in things that are related to the same forum. The same author of that post had the answer to that question in the same post. He/she was saying among other things, that the easiest way is to keep re-sharing his/her post.

0.2 - Other Engagement
Personally, I don't know your opinion as a reader coming across something like this. However, there are some engagement to the post and other users were excited and some have even started following his guidance on that to get some sort of support.

0.3 - Personal Opinion
When it comes to something like these, my mind starts asking questions. Why would someone ask for something which can be easily done by anyone? It doesn't require any knowledge or skill? It is just a re-share button.

While that is true, there is more to it. If you go back and read what the author was saying, it was written in the other direction. Instead of him asking the users to support him by re-sharing. He wrote his post as if there were many questions received from users asking for his favors. My humble opinion on the matter is that this author is seemingly needy in a way. He/she is asking users' to do bot activities to help him gain fame or something of that sort.

Let's ask another question here, at what cost is the author asking for this?
If we hypothetically believed that this author was successful in his/her mission. The same forum will be flooded with re-shared posts that the users themselves might not believe that they are worth sharing. But, they are sharing for a different purpose.

0.4 - Final Verdict
Why do you do the things that you chose to do online? Are you in the right place?
For instance, if someone is playing a game to earn money. But, that person hates the game. He is probably in the wrong place. He might do better by spending his time in a stock market or something of that sort. On the contrary, if someone is a writer or a vlogger. His might enjoy his time on social platforms were there are engagements with other people from different backgrounds and all.

I know that this has be longer post that what I expected. But, let me know what you think?

Some credits go to: https://themindnest.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now